Subject and Research Guides: Accounting: Databases & Journals

Journal databases

Research databases may be subject specific or cover many different topic areas. The databases below have full text academic journal articles relating to business, finance, economics and management.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business source premier provides access to full text scholarly business publications, including many peer-reviewed journals.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is a database providing full-text access to books and journals published by Wiley-Blackwell.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains the full text of Elsevier books, journals and reference works and also includes citations and abstracts of other journals.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
This online service provides full-text access to the Taylor & Francis Group journals, reference works and databases.
Emerald Management This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text and abstracts of articles from journals, mainly in the subject area of management including marketing operations and production.

Peer-reviewed journals

During your studies you will be asked to refer to peer-reviewed journal articles in your assessments. Some journal databases will have a filter that allows you to narrow your results to peer-reviewed journal articles, other databases will include articles from peer-reviewed journals only. One way to check whether an article you have found is from a peer-reviewed journal is to search the name of the journal in a database called Ulrichsweb:

Ulrichsweb global serials directory This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals are marked with an icon image of a 'referees shirt'.

Databases for Tax and Accounting Professionals

Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Checkpoint is an online platform for tax professionals featuring expert analysis, commentary, guidance and workflow tools. It transforms traditional online research methods into a workflow information solution for tax and accounting professionals.
CCH iKnowConnect This link opens in a new window
Contains cases and commentary along with annotated legislation on areas including tort, tax, discrimination, company, employment and contract law.
Wheelers ebooks online This link opens in a new window
CCH Australia, a Wolters Kluwer business, provides ebook titles on subjects including tax, accounting & financial planning, bankruptcy & insolvency, corporate & business law.

Key Accounting Journals

Links to A+ ranked accounting journals on the ABDC journal quality list.

Accounting, organizations and society. This link opens in a new window
Auditing: A Journal of Practice and Theory This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Accounting Research This link opens in a new window
Journal of Accounting and Economics This link opens in a new window
Journal of Accounting Research This link opens in a new window
Management Accounting Research This link opens in a new window
Review of Accounting Studies This link opens in a new window
The Accounting Review This link opens in a new window
The European Accounting Review This link opens in a new window