Subject and Research Guides: EBM: Search for Evidence

Key Databases

Medline This link opens in a new window
The Library has access to MEDLINE via four platforms: Ovid, Web of Science, ProQuest and EBSCOhost. Access via Ovid MEDLINE is recommended due to: superior search functionality; quick access to ebooks, multimedia and evidence-based practice tools; links to the full text of many articles are available on other platforms. MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database. It contains citations and author abstracts for journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present with selected coverage prior to that date.

Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is an abstracting and indexing database developed for the biomedical and pharmacological fields. Produced by Elsevier B.V., the database contains over 22 million records with each including full bibliographic citation and indexing terms. The database contains a broad biomedical scope and covers the following areas: drug therapy and research; clinical and experimental (human) medicine; biotechnology and biomedical engineering; health policy and management; public, occupational and environmental health; veterinary science, dentistry and nursing. Coverage extends from 1974 to the present.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine (U.S.), provides access to over 19 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s plus additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Available via the Wiley Interscience interface, the Cochrane library consists of 7 databases, all of which are concerned with different aspects of research which looks at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews is full text, while most of the other databases are registers and indexes consisting mainly of citations and detailed abstracts.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. It covers a large number of peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields, from an extensive range of international publishers. Also indexed are open access journals, conference proceedings, book series and trade publications, as well as patent records. References go back to 1996, while abstracts go back further. Linking to full-text articles is available.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science consists of several citation databases containing information from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research. The databases contain the references cited by the authors of the journal articles they cover. The cited references can be used as search terms, allowing a published work to be used to find other, later works that cite it. In addition, the databases can be searched by topic, author, source title, and address.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Is a database that contains the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier Science journals, as well as citations and abstracts of other journals. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Subject coverage emphasizes the life, medical, technical, and physical sciences, but there is also coverage of the arts, humanities, social sciences and psychology. Coverage is selective full-text.

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Updated daily from over 500 journals, and with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and a synthesis of the best available evidence.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This resource is designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to full-text articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.