Subject and Research Guides: Newspapers &amp; Grey Literature: Australian newspapers

Major Australian newspapers

The Australian This link opens in a new window
The Australian Financial Review This link opens in a new window
The Daily Telegraph, Sydney This link opens in a new window
The Koori Mail This link opens in a new window
An online archive of every Koori Mail issue since its inception in 1991, hosted and made available by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
The Sydney Morning Herald and supplements This link opens in a new window

Searching for Australian newspapers

Looking for a specific Australian newspaper?

Start with MultiSearch. Type the title of your newspaper into the search box and hit 'search'. To refine your results, select 'Journals' under the Header 'Resource Type'. MultiSearch will then narrow the results to newspapers.

To clarify your results:

Click on the Details tab to see the place of publication.
For physical copies, click on Hold/ARC request to see which years we hold at MQ.
For online copies, click on the View Online link to see which years MQ holds.

Historical news sources

TROVE
Trove provides a single point of access to Australia resources: theses, books, music scores and sound recordings, videos, DVDs, and includes access to Pictures Australia, full text Australian newspapers 1803-1954, manuscripts, maps and archived websites. Include Thesis in the keyword search box. You can type in keywords from author, title, and/or institution.

Alternative news sources

The Conversation
Online news source focused on analysis and commentary, featuring content from academics.
Crikey
An independent, online, Australian news source. Includes a website and subscription email service.
New Matilda
Independent, reader-funded, Australian online newspaper.

Current news by subject

Use the Newspaper databases in MultiSearch to search for news on a topic (see link below).

Australia and New Zealand Newsstream is recommended for Australian news (see link below).

When searching newspaper databases use the advanced search options to improve your search results.

Looking for news on a particular person or organisation? Use the drop-down menu to search 'person' or 'company/organisation'.

Advanced search drop down menu options

Use the publication date filter to look for stories in a particular date range.

Publication date filter screenshot

Newspaper databases

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to newspapers and magazines online, including film and television reviews.

News on Twitter

When finding news sources on Twitter, look for the Twitter verified symbol which means Twitter has confirmed the account belongs to the person or organisation it claims to represent.

Here are some key Australian news organisations on Twitter:

Sydney Morning Herald
Available through ProQuest Australia and New Zealand Newsstream.
The Guardian Australia
The Australian
SBS News
ABC News