Subject and Research Guides: Newspapers &amp; Grey Literature: Overview

Browse our newspapers and magazines

Image of SMH

Newspapers are available in a variety of formats:

print
microform
electronic

We have physical copies of some current newspapers and magazines on level 2 of the Library near the new books. Older editions of these newspapers are stored in our Automated Retrieval Collection.

Current and older editions include:

The Australian This link opens in a new window

The Saturday Paper This link opens in a new window

Using Factiva

In Factiva, you can search within the paper you want by searching under 'Sources', or browsing by the first letter of the newspaper's title.

Factiva sources search screenshot

Once you have selected the newspaper you want, type your keywords into the search box to see articles from this paper. You can also limit your results to a certain time period.

Date drop-down menu

Key newspaper databases

To find newspaper articles on a particular subject, use one of the key Newspaper databases below.

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to newspapers and magazines online, including film and television reviews.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.
Media Scan This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in Australian daily newspapers. Full-text is not available through this database.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 700 United States and international newspapers. It also contains full text television & radio news transcripts.
Digitised newspapers and more: National Library of Australia (Trove) This link opens in a new window
The service includes newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s, when copyright applies, as well as some later issues to 1982. The first Australian newspaper, published in Sydney in 1803, is included in the service.

All newspaper databases

Fairfax titles

Access The Sydney Morning Herald via -

Trove Digitised Newspapers Free (1842-1954)
ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (1996-present)
EbscoHost Newspaper Source Plus (1999-present)
Factiva (1986-present)

Access The Age via -

Trove Digitised Newspapers Free (1842-1954)
ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (1996-present)
EbscoHost Newspaper Source Plus (1999-present)
Factiva (1991-present)

Access The Australian Financial Review via -

Factiva (1987-present)