Skip to main content

Library Resources for MQ Clinical Innovation & Audit Committee (CIAC)

Key Databases - Life, Medical, & Physical Sciences

BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) 

BIOSIS citation index combines Biosis Previews with Citation Information and is a reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. 

ScienceDirect 

Is a database that contains the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier Science journals, as well as citations and abstracts of other journals. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Subject coverage emphasizes the life, medical, technical, and physical sciences, but there is also coverage of the arts, humanities, social sciences and psychology. Coverage is selective full-text. 

Annual Reviews 

Palo Alto, Calif. : Annual Reviews Inc
Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Full text retrieval is available for all of the articles from volume 1 of all titles. Broadest coverage is in the biological and physical sciences, with the social and behavioural sciences also represented. 

Medline/PubMed 

The Library has access to MEDLINE via four platforms: Ovid, Web of Science, ProQuest and EBSCOhost. Access via Ovid MEDLINE is recommended due to: superior search functionality; quick access to ebooks, multimedia and evidence-based practice tools; links to the full text of many articles are available on other platforms. MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database. It contains citations and author abstracts for journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present with selected coverage prior to that date. 

Embase  

Embase is an abstracting and indexing database developed for the biomedical and pharmacological fields. Produced by Elsevier B.V., the database contains over 22 million records with each including full bibliographic citation and indexing terms. The database contains a broad biomedical scope and covers the following areas: drug therapy and research; clinical and experimental (human) medicine; biotechnology and biomedical engineering; health policy and management; public, occupational and environmental health; veterinary science, dentistry and nursing. Coverage extends from 1974 to the present. 

Scopus 

Citations and abstracts of over 20,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields. 

Springer Nature Experiments
This portal allows researchers to search across a number of Springer/Nature products to locate relevant protocols and methods for their projects. Full-text results are only available for products the library subscribes to.Includes Nature Protocols, Neuromethods, Methods in Molecular Medicine. 

Web of Science 

Web of Science consists of a number of citation databases, containing information from thousands of scholarly journals and conference proceedings in all areas of research. The databases contain the references cited by the authors of the journal articles they cover. The cited references can be used as search terms, allowing a published work to be used to find other, later works that cite it. In addition, the databases can be searched by topic, author, source title, and address. Full text is available by linking to subscribed journals. Coverage is variable according to database. 

Google scholar @ MQ

Site which enables user to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. This link has been tailored to provide you access to Macquarie's resources via Google Scholar. 

 
CSIRO Publishing: Journals. 

Collingwood, Vic. : CSIRO Publishing, 199? 
A searchable database which allows full text retrieval of articles contained in the subscribed journals published by CSIRO Publishing. The subject areas are mainly the biological and physical sciences. Coverage varies according to source. 

 

Innovation Resources

SAI Global: on-line premium 

Sydney : Standards Association of Australia, 199? 
The Standards Australia (SAI global) database provides full text access to all current Australian standards, joint ISO/Australian standards, joint NZ/Australian standards, current Draft Australian standards, and amendments to Australian standards. Searching of international and other country standards is possible, but full text access is not available. 

Frost & Sullivan (USA) 

In-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage. Includes the following key industry sectors: healthcare, chemicals, IT, telecoms, electronics, industry, transportation, energy, aerospace and defence. Covers 1998 to present, updated as new reports are produced. 

Factiva 

Factiva provides fulltext access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key Web sites, including many Australasian sources. Articles from newspapers (including the Sydney Morning Herald and the Australian), news wires, press releases, company announcements and journals and daily pictures from Reuters and Knight Ridder are included. Information on companies and industries and stock market details is also provided. Date of coverage is variable according to the source. 

IBISWorld 

IBISWorld's Industry Market Research provides access to hundreds of industry reports, offering the latest content on every Australian industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, major industry participants and more. IBISWorld's Industry Risk Rating contains hundreds of industry risk rating reports, measuring how much risk an Australian industry will face. Macquarie user's have access to the following IBISWorld modules: Australia Company Reports, Australia Industry Reports, Australia Industry Risk Rating Reports, Australia Specialized Industry Reports and China Industry Reports. 

DatAnalysis premium 

DatAnalysis premium is a premier research tool for ASX company data. Comprehensive data on all companies listed on ASX as well as companies delisted since 1989. The database is updated daily from announcements lodged at the ASX and includes corporate details, full dividend history, operational history, financial and annual reports in PDF format back to 1998 and company announcements. Includes reports, announcements, company histories, shareholdings, company profiles, takeovers and financial data. Content may be browsed or searched using a range of criteria. 

 

Australian & New Zealand Newsstream 

This database combines key national full text newspapers from Fairfax, News Ltd and ABC (including the Sydney morning herald, the Age, and the Australian), with leading regional and local sources from Australia and New Zealand.