Physics and Astronomy

Produced by the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation Information Management Division, this database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished technical and scientific reports, conference proceedings, theses, authored by Australians or published in Australia.

A searchable e-print service which presents papers in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, statistics and quantitative biology. arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas.

A searchable database which allows full text retrieval of articles contained in the subscribed journals published by CSIRO Publishing. The subject areas are mainly the biological and physical sciences. Coverage varies according to source.

A searchable database, the CERN Document Server contains over 900,000 bibliographic records, including 360,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. It covers preprints, articles, books, journals, theses, photographs, etc.

The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database includes the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) and Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Material is available from 1960 onwards. Part of the SciTech collection and the Natural science collection.

A web-based searchable repository of optics and photonics information published by the Optica Publishing Group. Content may be browsed by publication or searched via keyword. Full text availability varies according to source.
Formerly known as OSA Publishing and OpticsInfoBase.

IOPscience provides a cross searchable interface for the journals published by the Institute of Physics. Full text access is available for subscribed journals. Coverage varies according to the journal.

Inspec provides citation and abstracts access to scientific and technical literature in Engineering, physical science and astronomy, computing and IT. Data are indexed with Numerical Indexing, Chemical Indexing, Astronomical Object Identifier, International Patent Code, Treatment code etc.

Full text articles on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Includes materials science, aerospace engineering, computer science, environmental science and more.

Web of Science consists of several citation databases containing information from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research. The databases contain the references cited by the authors of the journal articles they cover. The cited references can be used as search terms, allowing a published work to be used to find other, later works that cite it. In addition, the databases can be searched by topic, author, source title, and address.

Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. It covers a large number of peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields, from an extensive range of international publishers.

Is a database that contains the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier Science journals, as well as citations and abstracts of other journals. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Subject coverage emphasizes the life, medical, technical, and physical sciences, but there is also coverage of the arts, humanities, social sciences and psychology.

Critical reviews written by leading scientists. They provide a synthesis of the most significant primary research literature in a field, covering a wide range of scientific disciplines.