Skip to main content

MultiSearch

Finding a database by name

MultiSearch provides an access point to the databases that the Library subscribes to. Access databases by name by following these steps:

  1. Enter the name of the database into the search bar
  2. Select Databases from the drop-down menu on the right-hand side of the search bar and run the search
  3. Click Online access in the search result to access the record for the database
  4. Click on the blue hyperlinked database name under View it to access the database.

Finding a database by subject

There are different ways to help you discover databases for your subject area. To browse through a list of databases by subject (e.g., management or ancient history) or content type (ejournals or ebooks, etc.), follow these steps: 

  1. Select Databases from the drop-down menu on the right-hand side of the search bar
  2. Underneath the search bar is the Select a Subject Area drop-down menu. Choose an option from the subject list
  3. The results page will show a list of databases matching your subject selection. 

 

Another way to find to relevant databases is to browse the Library Subject & Research Guides for your subject area. These guides contain suggestions of the best databases to search based on subject area.

 

What is a Database?

A database is a curated collection of information resources which can be searched on a computer.

Macquarie University Library subscribes to a range of subject-related and multidisciplinary research databases from Australia and around the world.

The content in these databases can include journal articles, reports, conference papers, books, chapters of books, published and unpublished papers.