Subject and Research Guides: Criminology: Introduction to Criminology

Searching the Library's collection

MultiSearch is our main search engine at the MQ Library. It's a great place to start looking for information for your assessments.
Use the MultiSearch Research Assistant to get you started if you are new to a topic. The Research Assistant (Beta) enables you to ask questions, which will generate an overview of the topic and cite five sources.

Specialist encyclopedias and handbooks are excellent works to consult for concise overviews of topics.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Criminology & Criminal Justice
This database is for researchers, teachers, and students interested in all facets of the study of crime and justice issues, and provides access to high quality reference materials.

What are databases?

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, conference proceedings.
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline.
sometimes cross disciplinary.

CINCH : Australian criminology database
Produced by the Australian Institute of Criminology, this database contains published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice. Coverage extends from 1968.
ScienceDirect
Contains the full text of more than 1,800 academic journals, excellent coverage of criminology.
Taylor & Francis Online
Excellent coverage of criminology and social sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies
Offers authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Navigate to ''explore"' on the left, then "subject", choose ''criminology".

Annual Review of Criminology
This journal provides comprehensive reviews of significant developments in the multidisciplinary field of criminology, defined as the study of both the nature of criminal behavior and societal reactions to crime.
Criminology
This journal is devoted to the study of crime and deviant behavior. Interdisciplinary in scope, the journal publishes articles that advance the theoretical and research agenda of criminology and criminal justice.
Theoretical Criminology
This journal is a major interdisciplinary, international, peer reviewed journal. It is concerned with conceptual studies on narratives and myths of crime, punishment, social deviance, criminal law, morality, justice, gender, race, social regulation and governance.

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO)
APO is an open access service providing access to policy and practice research. Excellent coverage of Australian policy. Browse the 'Justice' collection.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)
Access to newspapers and magazines online, including film and television reviews.
Factiva
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.

Australian Institute of Criminology
The Australian Institute of Criminology is Australia's national research and knowledge centre on crime and justice.
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission ACIC
The ACIC provides mission critical intelligence to combat the threats Australia faces from transnational serious and organised crime.

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO)
APO is an open access service providing access to policy and practice research. Excellent coverage of Australian policy. Browse the 'Justice' collection.

Australian Bureau of Statistics: Crime and justice
Australia’s national statistical agency and an official source of independent, reliable information
NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research
Accurate, objective, and accessible evidence and information to inform public and government decision-making about crime and justice.