CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL (Cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature complete)
Available via the Wiley Interscience interface, the Cochrane library consistes of 7 databases, all of which are concerned with different aspects of research which looks at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews is full text, while most of the other databases are registers and indexes consisting mainly of citations and detailed abstracts.
Embase is an abstracting and indexing database developed for the biomedical and pharmacological fields. Produced by Elsevier B.V., the database contains over 22 million records with each including full bibliographic citation and indexing terms. The database contains a broad biomedical scope and covers the following areas: drug therapy and research; clinical and experimental (human) medicine; biotechnology and biomedical engineering; health policy and management; public, occupational and environmental health; veterinary science, dentistry and nursing. Coverage extends from 1974 to the present.
The Library has access to MEDLINE via four platforms: Ovid, Web of Science, ProQuest and EBSCOhost. Access via Ovid MEDLINE is recommended due to: superior search functionality; quick access to ebooks, multimedia and evidence-based practice tools; links to the full text of many articles are available on other platforms. MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database. It contains citations and author abstracts for journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present with selected coverage prior to that date.
PubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine (U.S.), provides access to over 19 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s plus additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Comprehensive Physiology is [an] authoritative and comprehensive collection of physiology information ... Its starting point is more than 30,000 pages of content from the American Physiological Society's renowned Handbook of Physiology (HoP) series, which is presented here for the first time in an online format. We aim to capture the full breadth and depth of the evolving science of physiology. New and updated materials will be published in a quarterly serial format.
The primary audience for Comprehensive Physiology is academic scientists in the life sciences. Secondary audiences include advanced students in the life sciences and medicine, instructors in these disciplines, and academic clinicians
BIOSIS citation index combines Biosis Previews with Citation Information and is a reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms.
SciFinder provides indexing and abstracts access to journals, books, conferences, patents, dissertations and technical reports in all areas of chemistry, biomedicine, and many other scientific areas. It allows searching by author name, research topic, company (or institution) and by chemical substance, reaction and structure.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. It covers a large number of peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields, from an extensive range of international publishers. Also indexed are open access journals, conference proceedings, book series and trade publications, as well as patent records. References go back to 1996, while abstracts go back further. Linking to full-text articles is available.
The BioCyc collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) provides a reference on the genomes and metabolic pathways of thousands of sequenced organisms. BioCyc PGDBs are generated by software that predict the metabolic pathways of completely sequenced organisms, predict which genes code for missing enzymes in metabolic pathways, and predict operons. BioCyc also integrates information from other bioinformatics databases, such as protein feature and Gene Ontology information from UniProt. The BioCyc website provides a suite of software tools for database searching and visualization, for omics data analysis, and for comparative genomics and comparative pathway questions.
Anatomy.tv : 3D interactive human anatomy powered by Primal Pictures.
London, Eng. : Primal Pictures Ltd, 2001-
Anatomy.tv contains rotatable 3D models of the human body. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by three-dimensional animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Clinical videos accompany the core three-dimensional anatomy data. All aspects of human anatomy are covered, systemic, regional and functional. Also included are common pathologies (including sports injuries), treatments (including surgery), radiological content, and interactive quizzes. Access using HTML5
This database provides access to a range of resources for use in the field of neuroanatomy, including neuroanatomy tutorials and slides, a brain atlas and a directory of muscles and nerves. Content may be browsed, alphabetically or by category, or searched by keyword. A comprehensive index appears at the bottom of the homepage.
Questions? Contact us here
Need HELP with your assignment or research?
Chat is the preferred method of contacting the Library during COVID-19
Brush up your academic skills with StudyWISE, an iLearn module. It will show you how to structure and write different types of assignments, research, plan and reference effectively, as well as many other skills to help you succeed at University.