Skip to main content

Neurosurgery

About this guide

 image of Macquarie university Hospital

Welcome to the Library's Neurosurgery Research Guide This guide provides you with links to websites and electronic resources that will be helpful for your research, study and clinical work.

Featured Resources

  

Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery logo 

Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery is an online database providing full text access to Thieme's entire neurosurgery collection. This database provides access to all of Thieme's neurosurgical online journals and e-books as well as providing access to more than 400 step-by-step illustrated procedures for core neurosurgical techniques and approaches.

Draw it to Know it Neuroanatomy logo

Draw it to know it: Neuroanatomy provides access to a range of resources for use in the field of neuroanatomy, including neuroanatomy tutorials and slides, a brain atlas and a directory of muscles and nerves.

StatDx

STATdx is an online reference tool providing diagnostic decision support for radiologists. Based on decades of diagnostic experience, STATdx provides access to thousands of diagnoses and supporting cases, as well as a vast range of digital images. Each diagnosis includes: Key Facts, Terminology, Imaging Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Pathology, Clinical Issues, Diagnostic Checklist, and Selected References.

STATdx is accessed via username and password and registration is required for setting up access. If you are interested in using the database please contact Mary Simons or Jeremy Cullis for more information.

AccessNeurology is a Neurology education and training resource for residency programs and medical students featuring leading textbooks, multimedia, Q&A, cases and more. Provides access to Adam and Victor's Principles of Neurology and Kandell and Schwartz's Principles of Neural Science, as well as drug information, multimedia, and cases and study tools.

AccesMedicine logo

AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.

Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes the medical field’s top academic experts.

It includes titles such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Goodman and Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Hurst's the Heart, and much more. 

UpToDate

UpToDate is the an evidence-based clinical decision support resource, used by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care.It contains over 10,000 clinical topics in 22 specialities.

Mobile Access for Macquarie Users

Currently registered Macquarie students and faculty can access the UpToDate mobile app free of charge using the follow steps:

  1. Login to UpToDate via MultiSearch using a laptop or desktop computer.
  2. Click “Log In / Register” on the top right of the UpToDate search page.
  3. Create an account
  4. Go to Google Play, the App Store, or the Amazon App Store and download the app for your device.
  5. Enter your UpToDate account username and password
  6. IMPORTANT: You will need to sign in via the Macquarie University network or Hospital intranet every 90 days to maintain access.

DynaMed Plus is an evidence-based, clinical reference tool designed for use at point-of-care by physicians and other health care professionals. It provides topical information on diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and treatments summarized from peer reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases.

AnatomyTV

Anatomy.tv includes interactive 3D anatomy models, MRI sections, slides, movies, and clinical text.

This full-text collection contains an extensive assortment of eBooks to provide students, researchers, and clinicians thorough coverage of all major medical fields and specialties including neurosurgery, plastic surgery, radiology and dentistry, and include a variety of co-publications with the American Association of Neurological Surgeons.

Search Google Scholar @ Macquarie

Search PubMed @ Macquarie

PubMed Logo
Search PubMed:   

Find Clinical Information

At Macquarie