Subject and Research Guides: Public Health: Databases & Journals

Databases

Databases can include:

Journal and newspaper articles, audio visual, books, conference proceedings and more
Often specialised in a specific topic, discipline or geographic area
Sometimes cross disciplinary

Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline is a key medical database, covering the disciplines of medicine, nursing, health sciences, public health and patient care.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a major pharmacological, biomedical, public health, and drug information database - the European equivalent of Medline.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Compete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing and allied health, including physiotherapy, and is particularly strong in qualitative research in nursing, allied health, and related disciplines.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, social sciences, business, and health & medicine.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering the humanities, the sciences, and health and medicine.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases: Sciences Expanded (1889+), Social Sciences (1898+), Arts & Humanities (1975+). Book citation index. (2005+), Conference Proceedings, Science (1990+), Conference Proceedings, Social Science & Humanities (1990+), Emerging Sources Citation (2005+), Current Chemical Reactions (1985+), and Index Chemicus (1993+).