This is the "Home" page of the "Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law  

Last Updated: May 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/law Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key Legal Databases

Westlaw AU

Includes the case citator FirstPoint, the encylopaedia Laws of Australia, as well as a range of law reports, unreported judgments, journals and commentary.

LexisNexis AU

Includes the case citator CaseBase, the encyclopaedia Halsbury's Laws of Australia, as well as a range of law reports, unreported judgments, journals and commentary.

CCH IntelliConnect

Includes a range of subject-specific law reports, journals, commentaries and newsletters.

LawOne

Includes full-text legislation from all Australian jurisdictions as well as point-in-time legislation for a range of subjects.

Federal Register of Legislation

Includes authorised versions of Commonwealth principal Acts, amending Acts and delegated legislation

AustLII

Includes an extensive collection of unreported judgments, legislation (including point-in-time NSW Acts), treaties, journals and law reform reports.

Find these and more: Law Research databases.

Law Alerts & Journal Table of Contents

Use alerting email or RSS feed services to keep up to date with developments in law.

 

About this guide

Welcome to the Library's Law LibGuide. This guide provides you with a starting point for legal research. It includes information on:

  • Getting started
  • Finding legislation
  • Finding cases
  • Finding Bills and extrinsic material
  • Finding legal commentary
  • Finding Gazettes and government documents
  • Choosing the right database
  • Finding recommended readings
  • Assignment help
  • Referencing basics
  • How to cite

Click on the tabs at the top of the guide to view each page.

 

 

Abbreviations

If the title of the law report or journal is abbreviated, you will need to find the full title before searching the Library Catalogue.

Useful legal abbreviation indexes include:

Australian courts use a system of Medium Neutral Citation to identify judgments. Each court has an 'identifier' or abbreviation that is used in these citations. The list below will help you find the full court name:

 

New Books!

Cover Art
Australian corporate law - Jason Harris, Anil Hargovan, Michael Adams
Call Number: KU956 .H37 2016
Publication Date: 2016

Cover Art
Commercial applications of company law - Pamela F Hanrahan
Call Number: KU956 .H36 2016
ISBN: 9780190304362
Publication Date: 2016

Cover Art
Torts : commentary and materials - Carolyn Sapideen, Prue Vines, Penelope Watson
Call Number: KU940 .T67 2016
ISBN: 9780455237848
Publication Date: 2016

 

Ask a Librarian

Need HELP with your assignment or research? 

Contact us

Call us on 1800 300 753
Email us

Chat with us

Visit us in person at the information desk in the Library
Research Librarians provide research consultations for Honours, Postgraduate and HDR students 
 

New publications from the Australian Parliamentary Library

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip