Journal articles provide analysis and opinion and can be useful for supporting your research of the primary materials.
They can also be a good source for up-to-date commentary on legal issues. Often relevant legislation and cases will also be cited. There may be cross over of jurisdictions, so the international databases may also contain relevant Australian issues. View the Law LibGuide for information about Australian legal journals.
Note: Use the International Law databases for more links to legal journal databases.
Note: There are different ways to find journal articles in Westlaw. You can search for United States journals by selecting Secondary Sources>Law Reviews & Journals or for international jurisdictions by selecting International Materials>Journals.
Select International Materials>Journals. In the search box type "conflict of laws" /p "construction contract*" > select Search
Tip: Articles may or may not be available in full-text within Westlaw. Use MultiSearch to search for the full-text of articles (remember - search for the journal title, not the article title, in Multisearch).
Use the US Research option under the drop-down arrow on the top-left of the Lexis Advance Pacific screen.
Note: This database searches full-text articles, so you may need to use the limits on the left-hand side of the page to refine your search. For example, you can limit by date or Country Published.
Note: The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is another journal article database available via HeinOnline. It contains abstracts of articles, not full-text.
Note: This database only contains abstracts of articles. Use Article Linker within the database or MultiSearch to find full-text copies of the articles.
You can also use MultiSearch to find the full-text of a journal if you already know the article you need. Before you can find a journal in the catalogue, you will need to work out its full title from the abbreviation using the abbreviation tools.
From the abbreviation tools list select Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations > Search by Abbreviation > type jwip > take note of the full title The Journal of World Intellectual Property.
In MultiSearch try searching for the title of the article "A public law perspective on intellectual property". If that doesn't work, try looking for the journal title "The Journal of World Intellectual Property" using Advanced Search instead.