Subject and Research Guides: Global Cultures & Languages: Key information & databases

Databases

These tabs highlight some specific databases for you to use.

Databases are:

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, conference proceedings and more.
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline
sometimes cross disciplinary

D-place : database of places language culture and environment
D-Place is a searchable database which contains cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information for over 1400 human 'societies'. A 'society' in D-PLACE represents a group of people in a particular locality, who often share a language and cultural identity.
Gale Primary Sources
Cross-searchable gateway to: Eighteenth century collections online; Nineteenth century collections online,
Early Encounters in North America: peoples, cultures, and the environment
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.15th to 20th Centuries, North America
Global commodities
Global Commodities is a searchable, full-text database providing access to a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials exploring the history of fifteen major commodities and examining the ways these commodities have changed the world.

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)
Access to newspapers and magazines online, including film and television reviews.
Gale NewsVault
A fully cross-searchable and cross-browsable platform of global historical newspapers and periodicals. Newspapers can be read cover-to-cover in full screen
Trove
Material digitised by the National Library of Australia, including historical newspapers. Easy to navigate site with unpublished historical records also.
Factiva
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.

Academic Search Premier
A searchable multisubject database which contains full text for over 4,450 scholarly publications including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Almost all academic areas of study are covered with some coverage extending back to 1975.
ProQuest
Good coverage of the humanities and social sciences.
Gale Academic OneFile
Taylor & Francis Online
This online service provides searchable fulltext access to the Taylor & Francis Group journals, reference works and databases. Resources are available in most subjects. Coverage varies according to source.

For searches, it can be useful combining a specific term with a general one. For instance:

multilingualism AND "case studies"

language	bilingualism; dialects; etymology; grammar; jargon; slang; multilingualism; translation; second language learning; semantics; grammatical gender; phonology; comprehension;
culture	cross cultural education; cultural appropriation; cultural capital; anthropology; cultural change; ethnicity
global	globalisation; international cooperation; world; territory
General terms	qualitative research; research; communication; pedagogy; case studies; discourse

Browse the Library's journal subscriptions. You can:

browse journals by subject and review tables of contents
download full articles
link to specific "shelves" of content and add journals to your personal bookshelf
be notified when new articles are published
save articles for off-line reading

Please note that not all Journals are in Browzine.