Subject and Research Guides: Literature, Creative Writing & Creative Arts: Literature & Creative Writing

Databases

Databases are:

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, conference proceedings and more.
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline
sometimes cross disciplinary

Austlit
Provides information on Australian literature. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources.

Cambridge core: Literature after 1945
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press.

Literary Reference Center
Contains Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It includes author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, literary criticism, reference books, literary journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic books and author interviews.
TLS: Times Literary Supplement
The TLS historical archive provides searchable access from 1902-2019. It includes reviews, letters, poems and articles.
Australasian Literature Online: Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands
Resource for researchers in the fields of Literature, Creative Writing, Post-Colonial Studies, Immigration Studies, Social Studies and Anthropology.

Book index with reviews (EBSCOhost)
Ability to limit to publication status, reading grade level, lexile score, publication date, language, and fiction/non-fiction and adult/juvenile content.

eBook collection (EBSCOhost).
The ebook collection (EBSCOhost) is a searchable collection of electronic books, in multiple subject areas, available on the EBSCOhost platform. Currently, Macquarie University Library only has access to the full text of the books which were previously part of netLibrary.

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO)
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) is an open access knowledge hub and information service providing easy access to policy and practice research and resources.
Factiva
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.

APAFT
"Australian Public Affairs full text"
Journal articles from the social sciences and humanities. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.

Literature and culture collection (Informit)
Articles sourced from a range of influential Australian literary and cultural magazines, including Meanjin, Quadrant and Griffith Review. A good source of Australian literature, history, cultural and social politics information through fiction, poetry, essays and memoir.

Humanities International Complete
This is a searchable database of humanities content, providing full text of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
ProQuest
Good coverage of the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR
Provides full text access to back issues and front list of core scholarly journals as well as access to ebooks. Subjects areas mainly focus on arts, humanities and social sciences,

Miles Franklin literary awards
This collection contains titles, from the Macquarie University Library collection, that have either won, or been shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award.
The Children's Book Council of Australia picture book of the year awards
This collection contains titles, from the Macquarie University Library collection, that have either won, or been shortlisted for the Children's Book Council of Australia Picture Book of the Year.
Macquarie University Authors

For searches, it can be useful combining a specific term with a general one. For instance:

postmodernism AND discourse

Specific	English literature 20th century; modernism literature; postmodernism literature; writers; critical theory fiction
Useful general terms	analysis; discourse; criticism and interpretation; reflection; literary theory

For instance,"Australian short stories" AND "literary theory"

Specific	Australian fiction; Aboriginal authors; Australian literature; Authors Australian; Australian essays; Novelists Australian
General	debate; analysis; discourse; criticism and interpretation; philosophy; reflection; literary theory; writers

For instance "children's literature" AND discourse

"Dorothy Sayers" AND philosophy

The AND in capitals will link the concepts for more refined results. Using the inverted comma's around a phrase will give you more precise results.

Specific	young adult fiction; juvenile fiction; children's stories; children's literature; youth fiction; pictorial works; treatment of female characters
General	criticism and interpretation; debate; analysis; philosophy; history and critcism

For searches, combining a specific with an area of exploration can be effective.

For instance "gothic fiction" AND Canada

modernism AND "science fiction"

The AND in capitals will link the concepts for more refined results. Using the inverted comma's around a phrase will give you more precise results.

Gothic	Modernist	Renaissance	Victorian
Gothic conventions	English fiction 20th century	Literature medieval	Victorian period
Horror tales	Modernism	Middle English 1100-1550	English literature 19th century
Penny dreadfuls	Popular culture art and society	European literature
English literature 18th century	1918-1945 fiction
Gothic fiction	Popular culture 20th century

Browse the Library's journal subscriptions. You can:

browse journals by subject and review tables of contents
download full articles
link to specific "shelves" of content and add journals to your personal bookshelf
be notified when new articles are published
save articles for off-line reading

Please note that not all Journals are in Browzine.