Skip to Main Content

Social Sciences

felix politics;gender;global politics;cultural anthropology;sociology;political sociology;urban planning;environmental humanities;international relations;development studies;geography;ethnography;anthropology;gender studies;economic sociology;ethnographic

Search, Select, Evaluate

MultiSearch

MultiSearch is the Library’s search platform that provides access to a large majority of Library resources. You can use it to find books, journal and newspaper articles, theses, databases, unit readings, exam papers, and more. Sign in with your OneID for better results. Click on the link below to access the search platform;

 

Research Databases

MultiSearch searches across most of the Library's resources, but it doesn't search everything.

To make sure you are finding all relevant literature, you can also search the subject databases included in each page on the left-hand side. Research databases may be subject specific or cover many different topic areas. The search techniques you use in MultiSearch are usually the same ones you use in the subject databases. Click on the link below to learn more about effective searching;

When you are analysing an assignment task or searching on a topic, try using alternative phrases for the same concept. You might find one phrase gives you far more results than the others. Below are some examples to start you thinking;

Lightbulb Use inverted commas to link two words together as a phrase

 

Subject 

Alternative search terms

Gender

"gender roles" ; postfeminism ; identity ; stereotypes

Demography

population ; "human ecology" ; "population dynamics"

International relations

geopolitics ; "foreign affairs" ; "comparative government" ; "foreign policy"

Climate change

"global warming" ; "climate crisis" ; "global heating" ; "climate emergency"

Inequality

disparity ; discrimination ; imbalance ; prejudice ; disparate

Trying linking one of your search terms with another concept from your assignment. The 'AND' in the middle is capitalized to link the terms. 

An example for searching would be using the terms 

"climate change" AND Australia

"gender roles" AND parenting

Click on the link below to find out more about how to identify search terms for your research;

Often, you will be required to find and use peer reviewed journal articles in your units.

Peer review refers to:

  • articles which have been scrutinised by recognised authorities in the field
  • articles may be rejected for publication, or asked to revise

Peer review is important because: 

  • It is a guarantee of quality academic material

How do you choose peer reviewed material?

  • By checking the 'peer review' box in the filter pane on the left the search screen

Choosing peer reviewed sources for your assessment is a great start, but there are other things you need to think about when selecting the right material. Click on the link below to learn more about how to evaluate sources;

Browsing the Physical Collection

Browsing the Library shelves can be a very effective way of finding relevant resources. Try browsing around the call numbers below to find interesting titles to extend your research.

 
Call Number Subject Area
BF511-593 Psychology. Affection. Feeling. Emotion
BL1-2790 Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
GN1-890 Anthropology
GN296-296.5 Medical Anthropology
GN301-674 Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology
GT1-7070 Manners and Customs (includes Customs relative to private life)
HD28-9999 Industries. Land use. Labour (including agriculture, development, planning)
HN1-995 Social history and conditions. Social problems
HQ1-2044 The Family. Marriage. Women, including sexual life
HV5800-5840 Drug habits. Drug Abuse
TX1-1110 Home economics

 

Browsing the Library shelves can be a very effective way of finding relevant resources. Try browsing around the call numbers below to find interesting titles to extend your research                                                                                                        

Call Number Subject Area
DU120-125 Australia-Ethnography-First Nations People
G1-922 Geography (General)
G1000-3122 Atlases
GA1-1776 Mathematical Geography (including Surveys, Cartography)
GB3-5030 Physical Geography (including Geomorphology, Hydrology, Natural Disasters)
GE1-350 Environmental Sciences
GF1-900 Human Ecology (including Human Geography)
GN378-396 Collected ethnographies
HD28-9999 Industries. Land Use. Labour (including Land Tenure, Real Estate Business)
HT51-395 Communities. Classes. Races (including Human Settlements, City Planning, Recreation, City Promotion)
HV4701-4890 Protection of Animals. Animal Rights. Animal Welfare
QH301-705 Biology (general, including, Life, Ecology, Economic Biology)

Browsing the Library shelves can be a very effective way of finding relevant resources. Try browsing around the call numbers below to find interesting titles to extend your research.

Call Number Subject Area
JC11-605 Political theory. The state. Theories of the state
JK1-9993 Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JQ21-6651 Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
JV6001-9480 Emigration and immigration. International migration
JZ5-6530 International Relations

Browsing the Library shelves can be a very effective way of finding relevant resources. Try browsing around the call numbers below to find interesting titles to extend your research.

Call Number Subject Area
BF511-593 Psychology. Affection. Feeling. Emotion
HB1-3840 Economic theory. Demography
HC10-1085 Economic history
HD28-9999 Industries. Land use. Labour
HD6050-6305 Classes of labour (including women, children, students, middle-aged and older persons, minorities)
HF1-6182 Commerce
HG1-9999 Finance
HM1-1281 Sociology, including social change
HN1-995 Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
HQ1-2044 The Family. Marriage. Women, including sexual life
HT51-1595 Communities. Classes. Races
HV1-9960 Social pathology. Social and public welfare
JC11-605 Political theory. The state. Theories of the state
JK1-9993 Political institutions and public administration
JV6001-9480 Emigration and immigration. International migration

Browsing items related to your search can be another way of finding relevant resources. When you find a useful source in MultiSearch, try scrolling to the bottom of the record to see a virtual bookshelf of related items.

Virtual bookshelf

Related Guides