Subject and Research Guides: Social Sciences: Home

About this guide

This Guide will help you find, select, evaluate, and reference information resources for your assignments and research.

Use the pages on the left to identify and develop your understanding of:

Key information sources and how to access them
Key steps in the research and referencing process

Use the quick links on the right to connect to essential Library tools and webpages, and for Subject and Research Guides on related topics.

Key Databases for Social Sciences

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO) This link opens in a new window
An open access knowledge hub and information service providing easy access to policy and practice research and resources.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Articles discuss significant developments in a range of fields, including the Social Sciences.
APAFT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to sources on Australia's political, economic and social affairs.
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology.
Indigenous Australia This link opens in a new window
Source documents from the ATSIC Library include Commonwealth gazettes, media/press releases, speeches and conference papers, pamphlets, booklets and ephemera, book chapters, journal and newspaper articles, Hansard, cases and judgments, books, reports, conference proceedings, theses and videos.
Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
A searchable database, with content on both historical and topical issues within indigenous studies.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citation only database providing comprehensive coverage for the Social Sciences. Some full text is available through linking to subscribed journals.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Country reports and tables, outlooks and annuals, journals and newsletters, book series, legal and reference materials, and statistical databases issued by OECD.
Trove This link opens in a new window
Material digitised by the National Library of Australia, including historical newspapers.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Some full text is available through linking to subscribed journals.

Reference Sources

Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias are examples of reference sources. You can use them to find definitions and background information. Articles from specialised subject encyclopaedias are authoritative and often substantial.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Experts provide authoritative coverage of the growing body of knowledge about ways to restore the planet, including environmental law and ethics, green business practices, regional sustainability issues, and resource and ecosystem management.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A database of full text encyclopaedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. It discusses history, current trends and future directions. Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The searchable online Oxford English Dictionary is a work in progress, with new entries added every year.
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Covers social sciences, psychology and education. It includes eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles and more.

Quicklinks for students

Assignment and study skills support
Get help with an assignment or develop your skills though online resources, workshops and one-to-one help.
MultiSearch
MultiSearch is the Library's search platform. Sign in with your OneID for better results.
StudyWISE
These resources in iLearn will help you develop your study, research and academic writing skills.

Social Sciences

About this guide

Key Databases for Social Sciences

Reference Sources

Quicklinks for students

Useful Guides