Subject and Research Guides: Archaeology: Reference Materials

Reference Materials

Archaeology : an introduction by Kevin Greene; Tom Moore
ISBN: 9780203835975
Looks behind the popular aspects of archaeology such as the discovery and excavation of sites, the study of human remains and animal bones, radiocarbon dating, museums and 'heritage' displays, and reveals the methods used by archaeologists.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Deborah M. Pearsall
Call Number: ebook
Encompasses aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology by Claire Smith (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781441904652
This multi-volume work provides a comprehensive and systematic coverage of archaeology that is unprecedented, not only in terms of the use of multi-media, but also in terms of content. It encompasses the breadth of the subject along with key aspects that are tapped from other disciplines.
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Ancient near East by D. T. Potts (Editor)
Publication Date: (2012)

Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Provides classic and current trents in the social sciences and humanities. Choose your discipline area from the 'browse by subject' list.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to books published by Oxford University Press containing in-depth, high-level scholarly articles, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
A concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

Archaeology books in the Library are generally classed in "CC", "DF", "DG" or "DT" on Level two and "NK" on Level one.

CC72-81 Archaeology--Philosophy.

CC73-81 Archaeology--Methodology

CC83-97 Archaeology--Study and teaching.

CC135-137 Preservation, restoration, and

conservation of antiquities.

DF75-221 Greece--Archaeology

DG63-190 Rome--Archaeology

DT56-73 Egypt--Archaeology

GN700-890 Prehistoric archaeology

NK3800-3855 Pottery-Ancient