Subject and Research Guides: Audiology &amp; Speech Pathology: SPHL3300

SPHL3300 Assignment documents and Video

SPLH3300 Student Handout
Supporting document to assist you with fulfilling important elements of the assignment.

SPHL3300: Presentation Video
Please view this video and read the handout and check through other resources on this page and attempt to search the recommended databases. Please bring all your questions/issues about your Literature Search along to class in week 4 when Faculty Librarians Jane and/or Jing will be attending.
This video is from a 2020 class presentation and includes equivalent information even though some resources may look slightly different. Duration is about 25 minutes. It is recommended viewing and will help explain many of the resources provided via this Library Guide.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. It has extensive coverage and is useful for both finding articles generally and evaluating journals for citation impact.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA This link opens in a new window
Covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also includes good coverage of audiology and speech pathology topics especially from a language perspective. Some articles indicate citations however, we recommend you use other sources to evaluate the journals.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline is the same database as PubMed. We recommend using it on the OVID platform. It is a very good database for audiology and speech pathology topics. It defaults to the Advanced Search, but if you are unfamiliar with searching via Subject Headings, we suggest using the Basic search mode which allows for natural language searching (ie more or less how you might search in Google Scholar or Multisearch). This database does not include citation impact data.

Searching an OVID database (Advanced search)
This video was made for Psychology students using the database PsycInfo. You may find it useful if you are interested in learning to search using the advanced mode in OVID. (Duration:10:03)

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
JCR provides Impact Factors for all the journals indexed by Web of Science. Impact Factor allows for the comparison and ranking of journals within the same discipline. The Impact Factor only measures the interest of other researchers in an article, not its importance and usefulness.

Scopus Source List
Scopus' equivalent to the journal list in JCR. Sources are mostly journals, here sorted by "CiteScore". You can filter results via a range of options including subject areas.

Google Scholar @ MQ This link opens in a new window
This link to Google Scholar will include MQ Library Links to the full text. While it probably isn't the first database we recommend for this assessment task, it is an easy place to search for articles and does include some citation impact data.

Research Impact
This MQ LibGuide provides an overview about Research metrics and impact.
Journal Citation Reports Support page from Web of Science/ Clarivate
Tutorial style information providing in depth explanations about JCR and other citation impact products from Clarivate. Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data.
Scopus Research Metrics Quick Reference Guide
Ready reckoner overview of the types of citation metrics information which can be obtained from Scopus.
Scopus Tutorial: How to view document metrics in Scopus
Scopus Tutorial: How to create citation overviews
Scopus Tutorial: How to view journal metrics for a title in Scopus
This final tutorial uses the Scopus Source List