Subject and Research Guides: Clinical Science: Databases

Databases

Databases can include:

Journal and newspaper articles, audio visual, books, conference proceedings and more
Often specialised in a specific topic, discipline or geographic area
Sometimes cross disciplinary

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Compete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing and allied health, including physiotherapy, and is particularly strong in qualitative research in nursing, allied health, and related disciplines.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a major pharmacological, biomedical, public health, and drug information database - the European equivalent of Medline.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline is a key medical database, covering the disciplines of medicine, nursing, health sciences, public health and patient care.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, social sciences, business, and health & medicine.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering the humanities, the sciences, and health and medicine.
The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane database of systematic reviews is a full text database which looks at the effectiveness of different health care treatments.

Web of Science Core Collection
A large multidisciplinary database providing access to content in the arts, the sciences and social sciences, medicine, and the humanities.

Ovid logo

Cinahl logo

Scopus logo

Web of Science logo

Peer review refers to:

Peer review is important because:

How do you choose peer reviewed material?

Peer review explainer on StudyWise
Ulrich's Web Global Directory Search for a journal's name to see details about the journal including whether it is peer reviewed/refereed. Refereed items are marked with an icon which is a representation of a 'referees shirt'. Using Ulrichsweb global serials directory: Choose 'Database by title' in the top navigation bar in MultiSearch Type Ulrichsweb into the Database search box. Use the links under View Online to access the database.