Subject and Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Medicine, Health &amp; Human Sciences

Open Educational Resources for Medicine, Health & Human Sciences

Consider using MultiSearch advanced, and ticking the 'Open Access' limiter to find materials.

open access is ticked on a box called 'availability'

BCampus OpenEd The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources by making available openly-licensed textbooks. Textbooks are available for Applied Science, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Engineering, Maths, Statistics, and Physics.
De Gruyter Open De Gruyter Open publishes fully open access journals and books in all major academic disciplines.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) Academic peer-reviewed ebooks
InTech Open Science, technology and medicine open access book publisher.
National Academies Press The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the US National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy. They offer more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book (Source: NAP webpage).
Open Book Publishers Open Book Publishers (OBP), founded in 2008, is a leading independent open access academic press that publishes peer-reviewed, award-winning monographs, edited collections, textbooks, critical translations and more. We are a non-profit social enterprise based in the UK and run by academics and we are committed to making high-quality research available to every reader.
Open Research Library The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 14,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
Open Textbook Library Open Textbook Library (OTL) provides textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. They can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. Subjects covered include Medicine, Computer Science & Information Systems, Engineering, Mathematics, and Natural Sciences.
Project Guttenberg Project Gutenberg offers over 56,000 free ebooks. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.
Trove Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It’s more than a search engine. Trove brings together content from libraries, museums, archives, repositories and other research and collecting organisations big and small. For information on how to attribute Trove resources see this page https://help.nla.gov.au/trove/using-trove/getting-using-resources/using-resources
WikiBooks Wikibooks is a collection of open-content textbooks, a Wikimedia project for collaboratively writing open-content textbooks that anyone can get edit right. Wikibooks includes textbooks, annotated texts, instructional guides, and manuals. These materials can be used in a traditional classroom, an accredited or respected institution, a home-school environment, as part of a Wikiversity course, or for self-learning (Source: Wikibooks webpage).

All six Creative Commons licenses require attribution to the creator when using or sharing the resource.

Find examples of attribution on the Licence chooser tool by CC or by reviewing the examples on best practices for attribution.

De Gruyter Open De Gruyter Open publishes fully open access journals and books in all major academic disciplines.
Digital Commons Network Open access scholarly papers from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Including medicine, social & behavioural sciences.
Directory of Open Access journals Covering free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, this resource allows searching at the publication and article level. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
Elsevier Open Access Journals Directory of peer-reviewed, open access journals published by Elsevier.
Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions
HighWire Press (Stanford University): Free Online Fulltext Articles Free Online Fulltext Articles.
JSTOR Provides full text access to back issues and front list of core scholarly journals as well as access to ebooks. Subjects areas mainly focus on arts, humanities and social sciences, but with coverage of some science areas. T
PubMed PubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine (U.S.), provides access to over 19 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s plus additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Springer Open Over 200 peer-reviewed fully open access journals published by Springer.
Taylor & Francis Open Access Collection of Open Access journals published by Taylor & Francis.

All six Creative Commons licenses require attribution to the creator when using or sharing the resource.

Find examples of attribution on the Licence chooser tool by CC or by reviewing the examples on best practices for attribution.

CosmoLearning Medicine Provides courses, video lectures, documentaries, images, books, and other multimedia material.
MERLOT (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
MIT OpenCourseWare MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. Course content covers Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Health Sciences and Technology, Biology, etc.
OERCommons Org OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
openmichigan Access a range of course materials, videos, lectures, student work and more. Nearly all of the content here is openly licensed for reuse under Creative Commons.
TU Delft OpenCourseWare TU Delft OpenCourseWare provides free and open educational resources of high quality university‐level, organised as courses. You may download, revise, remix and re distribute the resources published at TU Delft OpenCourseWare, as long as you adhere to the Creative Commons conditions.

All six Creative Commons licenses require attribution to the creator when using or sharing the resource.

Find examples of attribution on the Licence chooser tool by CC or by reviewing the examples on best practices for attribution.

Flickr Creative commons subset of the Flickr image and video hosting website. Browse or search through content under each type of CC licence.
New York Public Library Digital Collections Online access to digitised image material, video and audio from the collections of the New York Public Library.
Pexels All photos and videos on Pexels are free to use. Attribution is not required. Giving credit to the photographer or Pexels is not necessary but always appreciated. You can modify the photos and videos from Pexels. Be creative and edit them as you like.
The Sociological Cinema Launched in 2010, TSC is a resource for using video and pop culture to teach and learn sociology.
TED Ideas worth spreading TED is a non-profit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED is a global community, welcoming people from every discipline and culture who seek a deeper understanding of the world. On TED.com, there is a clearinghouse of free knowledge from the world's most inspired thinkers — and a community of curious souls to engage with ideas and each other.
YouTube Search for video and then filter by 'creative commons'

All six Creative Commons licenses require attribution to the creator when using or sharing the resource.

Find examples of attribution on the Licence chooser tool by CC or by reviewing the examples on best practices for attribution.

Flickr Creative commons subset of the Flickr image and video hosting website. Browse or search through content under each type of CC licence.
FreePik If you are a Free user, you must always include the attribution line “Designed by Freepik” on the final products or designs you use our resources for, whether these are physical or digital products.
Google Image Search Use the tools function to filter by Creative Commons licences.
JSTOR Open Community Collections Open access collections of photographs, art, and ephemera from institutions contributing to JSTOR’s Open Community Collections initiative. Titles are available under the terms of a Creative Commons license. There are no limits on chapter downloads or printing
Pexels All photos and videos on Pexels are free to use. Attribution is not required. Giving credit to the photographer or Pexels is not necessary but always appreciated. You can modify the photos and videos from Pexels. Be creative and edit them as you like.
Pixabay All content on Pixabay can be used for free for commercial and noncommercial use across print and digital, except in the cases mentioned in "What is not allowed". Attribution is not required. Giving credit to the contributor or Pixabay is not necessary but is always appreciated by our community. You can make modifications to content from Pixabay.
Trove Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It’s more than a search engine. Trove brings together content from libraries, museums, archives, repositories and other research and collecting organisations big and small. For information on how to attribute Trove resources see this page https://help.nla.gov.au/trove/using-trove/getting-using-resources/using-resources
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Images Galleries Many HHS agencies maintain galleries of images that are in the public domain and can be used on your website or other communications materials.
UnSplash All photos published on Unsplash can be used for free. You can use them for commercial and noncommercial purposes. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or Unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible. More precisely, Unsplash grants you an irrevocable, nonexclusive, worldwide copyright license to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use photos from Unsplash for free, including for commercial purposes, without permission from or attributing the photographer or Unsplash. This license does not include the right to compile photos from Unsplash to replicate a similar or competing service.
Wikimedia Commons Wikimedia includes both public domain and open licensed materials. Check each image for requirements.

All six Creative Commons licenses require attribution to the creator when using or sharing the resource.

Find examples of attribution on the Licence chooser tool by CC or by reviewing the examples on best practices for attribution.

Related guides

Open access guide Macquarie University Library guide to resources and ideas.
Copyright guide MQ Macquarie University Library guide to resources and ideas.