Subject and Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Arts

Open Educational Resources for Arts

Consider using MultiSearch advanced, and ticking the 'Open Access' limiter to find materials.

open access is ticked on a box called 'availability'

ANU open access books Respected academic open access publisher. Fully peer-reviewed books and journals across a wide range of subject areas, with a special focus on Australian and international policy, Indigenous studies and the Asia-Pacific region.
College open textbooks Listing nearly 800 textbooks, COT have traditionally focused on textbooks for two-year college and lower division four-year college courses, but listings include books appropriate for both advanced high school and upper division college courses as well. A project of COT Education, their mission is to create and support programs that increase access to affordable lifelong learning for everyone.
HathiTrust Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
OA Australasia book publishing We support all models of open access, and in particular we endorse the principles of the F.A.I.R. Access Policy Statement for research outputs to be Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable, ensuring they can be part of the global research ecosystem. We are committed to advocating for and raising awareness of open access in Australia and New Zealand through collaboration regionally and internationally and building capacity and expertise within this region.
Open Book Publishers Open Book Publishers (OBP), founded in 2008, is a leading independent open access academic press that publishes peer-reviewed, award-winning monographs, edited collections, textbooks, critical translations and more. We are a non-profit social enterprise based in the UK and run by academics and we are committed to making high-quality research available to every reader.
Open Research Library The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 14,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
Project Guttenberg Project Gutenberg offers over 56,000 free ebooks. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.

All six Creative Commons licenses require attribution to the creator when using or sharing the resource.

Find examples of attribution on the Licence chooser tool by CC or by reviewing the examples on best practices for attribution.

Directory of Open Access journals (DOAJ) Covering free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, this resource allows searching at the publication and article level. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions
JSTOR Provides full text access to back issues and front list of core scholarly journals as well as access to ebooks. Subjects areas mainly focus on arts, humanities and social sciences, but with coverage of some science areas. T
OA Australasia journal listings We support all models of open access, and in particular we endorse the principles of the F.A.I.R. Access Policy Statement for research outputs to be Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable, ensuring they can be part of the global research ecosystem. We are committed to advocating for and raising awareness of open access in Australia and New Zealand through collaboration regionally and internationally and building capacity and expertise within this region.
OER collective The OER Collective is designed to incentivise development of open textbooks by academic authors at participating institutions.

All six Creative Commons licenses require attribution to the creator when using or sharing the resource.

Find examples of attribution on the Licence chooser tool by CC or by reviewing the examples on best practices for attribution.

Learning and Teaching Repository (Australia) The repository serves particularly the learning and teaching community in Australia through dissemination of resources that promote innovation and excellence in learning and teaching to improve student learning and outcomes. Documents retrieved from the existing OLT Resource Library have been migrated 'as is'. There will be no review and editing of existing documents for branding, content updating, accessibility or labelling purposes.
OER commons organisation OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
Open culture: K to 12 educational resources This collection provides a list of free educational resources for K-12 students including lessons, apps, books, websites...
Trove Australia Trove provides a single point of access to Australia resources: theses, books, music scores and sound recordings, videos, DVDs, and includes access to Pictures Australia, full text Australian newspapers 1803-1954, manuscripts, maps and archived websites. Include Thesis in the keyword search box. You can type in keywords from author, title, and/or institution.

Pexels Free stock photos, royalty free images & videos shared by creators.
The Sociological Cinema Launched in 2010, TSC is a resource for using video and pop culture to teach and learn sociology.
TED Ideas worth spreading TED is a non-profit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED is a global community, welcoming people from every discipline and culture who seek a deeper understanding of the world. On TED.com, there is a clearinghouse of free knowledge from the world's most inspired thinkers — and a community of curious souls to engage with ideas and each other.

Find examples of attribution on the Licence chooser tool by CC or by reviewing the examples on best practices for attribution.

Flickr Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
Google Images Google images plan to make material universally accessible and useful.
JSTOR Open Community Collections Open access collections of photographs, art, and ephemera from institutions contributing to JSTOR’s Open Community Collections initiative. Titles are available under the terms of a Creative Commons license. There are no limits on chapter downloads or printing
Pixabay Over 4 million+ high quality stock images, videos and music shared by the community.

Find further examples of attribution on the Licence chooser tool by CC or by reviewing the examples on best practices for attribution.

Example of attributing an image.

"Creative Commons 10th Birthday Celebration San Francisco" by Timothy Vollmer is licensed under CC BY 4.0

Example of adapting a work and attributing it

This work, "90fied", is adapted from "Creative Commons 10th Birthday Celebration San Francisco" by Timothy Vollmer, used under CC BY 4.0. "90fied" is licensed under CC BY 4.0 by [Your name here].

Museums and Art Galleries

British Museum The British Museum's eight million objects allow us to explore the extraordinary diversity of human cultures, from small communities to vast empires, to discover the many forms and expressions human beings have given to every aspect of life, and to realise how closely they are interconnected. Copyright and permissions - https://www.britishmuseum.org/terms-use/copyright-and-permissions
Getty Open Content Program The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required. Visit http://www.getty.edu/about/whatwedo/opencontent.html for more information.
National Gallery of Australia The National Gallery is Australia’s leading national visual arts institution. The collection comprises almost 160,000 works of art, including the world’s largest collection of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art and Australia’s pre-eminent collection of modern international art For information of using images, visit https://nga.gov.au/collection/copyright.cfm
Rijksmuseum The Rijksmuseum is the Dutch national museum dedicated to arts and history in Amsterdam. https://www.rijksmuseum.nl/en/organisation/frequently-asked-questions/copyright
Smithsonian Open Access The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum, education, and research complex. It offers eleven museums and galleries on the National Mall plus six other museums and the National Zoo in the greater National Capital Area. For the terms of use, visit this site, https://www.si.edu/termsofuse
Trove Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It’s more than a search engine. Trove brings together content from libraries, museums, archives, repositories and other research and collecting organisations big and small. For information on how to attribute Trove resources see this page https://help.nla.gov.au/trove/using-trove/getting-using-resources/using-resources

Related guides

Copyright guide MQ Macquarie University Library guide to resources and ideas.
Open access guide Macquarie University Library guide to resources and ideas.