Newspapers & Grey Literature

Search these five newspaper collections simultaneously; The Financial Times Historical Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Independent Historical Archive, The Listener Historical Archive and The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2019. Included are the supplements, special reports and surveys as well as full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week.
Database features: Charts and tables are available in an exportable format allowing users to manipulate statistical tables and financial and economic data.

The TLS historical archive provides searchable access to the full text of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 through 2009. It includes more than 300,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles.

The service includes newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s, when copyright applies, as well as some later issues to 1982. The first Australian newspaper, published in Sydney in 1803, is included in the service.

Chatham House is a world-leading centre for policy research in international affairs. This collection contains 90 years of high level analysis and research on global trends, key events and issues from 1920 to 2008.

This database is an archive comprising more than 2 million pages. It contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals, some of the printed matter very scarce. The archive unites a number of geographic areas, reflecting the widespread impact of the changes in crime and its policing during the long nineteenth century. The collection covers Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes and includes material in English, Spanish, French, Italian, and German. Using this archive, it is possible to trace the influence of a legal judgement or development of a penal methodology through various different jurisdictions.

This collection contains every significant English language and foreign language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800. Full-text searching enables users to explore a vast range of books and directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, advertisements, and works by both celebrated and lesser-known authors.

This database focuses on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Sourced from over a hundred libraries the collection includes a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps and statistics.

This database is a compilation of full text archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It includes periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera. The collections cover a period of just over a century (1900s to 2010s) when the world saw the formation of several civil rights movements for the rights of minorities, women's rights, and gay rights.