Subject and Research Guides: Lab Safety Virtual Library: Standards & Patents

Searching for Patents

IP Australia - Patents
The search system for Australian patents. Records prior to 1920 can only be found by application number and/or full specifications.
Coverage: Full-text 1904+
SourceIP Australia
Patents filed by Australian public research organisations.
USPTO
United States Patent and Trademark Office.
European Patent Office
The European Patent Office (EPO) examines European patent applications, enabling inventors, researchers and companies from around the world to obtain protection for their inventions in up to 44 countries through a centralised and uniform procedure that requires just one application.
World Intellectual Property (WIPO)
Search international and national patent collections.

Standards and Codes Timber Construction- Wood Solutions This link opens in a new window
This page contains information on timber design and construction compliance related to fire, acoustics, building classes, environmental impact, thermal performance and quality assurance. Additionally, it specifically covers MRTFC (Multi-Residential Timber Framed Construction) and AS 1684, a four-part Australian Standard covering compliance for timber framing. You will need to register for a personal account to download information from this website which is produced by Forest & Wood Products Australia Ltd.

Google Patents
Search and read the full text of patents from around the world.

The Lens This link opens in a new window
The Lens serves nearly all of the patent documents in the world as open, annotatable digital public goods that are integrated with scholarly and technical literature along with regulatory and business data. The Lens will allow document collections, aggregations, and analyses to be shared, annotated, and embedded to forge open mapping of the world of knowledge-directed innovation.

Searching for Standards

Australian Standards (SAI Global) This link opens in a new window
Get full text access for all current Australian standards, joint ISO/Australian standards, joint NZ/Australian standards, current Draft Australian standards, & amendments to Australian standards. Search abstracts of international & other country standards.

Australian Design Rules
Australian Design Rules. National standards for vehicle safety, anti-theft and emissions.

Datasets

Data repositories are useful for finding data to reuse for research.

Many research organisations, government agencies and cultural institutions have data repositories. Some repositories are subject specific and some are multidisciplinary.

A data portal allows you to find datasets from across many different repositories via a searchable interface.

Research Data Australia This link opens in a new window
Research Data Australia helps you find, access, and reuse data for research from over one hundred Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions. We do not store the data itself here but provide descriptions of, and links to, the data from our data publishing partners.
Research Data Australia caters specifically for researchers but also has broader relevance to others including policy makers, educators and business people.

Research Data Australia covers a broad spectrum of research fields - across sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Much of the data you can discover here is immediately accessible online via our partners and free to use (subject to any licence conditions).

Subject-specific repositories for molecular sciences data.

GlyGen
GlyGen is a data integration and dissemination project for carbohydrate and glycoconjugate related data. GlyGen retrieves information from multiple international data sources and integrates and harmonizes this data. This web portal allows exploring this data and performing unique searches that cannot be executed in any of the integrated databases alone.
Omics DI
Part of the ELIXIR infrastructure.
Omics Discovery Index is an integrated and open source platform facilitating the access and dissemination of omics datasets.