Subject and Research Guides: Systematic Reviews: Grey Literature

Definition of grey literature

Grey literature is the term used to describe research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form.

Examples include:

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) This link opens in a new window
The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia. This database contains current and historical social & economic data for Australia, Census figures and access to all ABS publications from 1998 onwards.

Australian Department of Health
Australian Indigenous HealthInfo Net
An online resource that aims to make practice and policy in Indigenous health readily accessible.
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare (AIHW)
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
Australia's peak body for supporting health and medical research; for developing health advice for the Australian community, health professionals and governments; and for providing advice on ethical behaviour in health care and in the conduct of health and medical research.
NSW Ministry of Health

Source: Google Images https://images.app.goo.gl/or2NZ6sShr1ENWsD9

Guidelines International Network – Guidelines Library
Note: The NHMRC Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines Portal is no longer active. If you are looking for Australian clinical practice guidelines, visit the Guidelines International Network – Guidelines Library.

Part 11. Grey Literature: Systematic approaches to searching the health sciences literature - Cushing/Whitney Medical Library, Yale University

See more tips on finding grey literature using Google Advanced search on the University of Adelaide Google search tips playlist on YouTube.

Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry (ANZCTR)
An online register of clinical trials being undertaken in Australia and New Zealand.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
EU Clinical Trials Register
Information on clinical trials in European Union (EU) member states and the European Economic Area (EEA) and clinical trials which are conducted outside the EU/EEA if they form part of a paediatric investigation plan (PIP).
WHO ICTRP Search Portal
The WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform aims to provide a single point of access to information about ongoing and completed clinical trials.

Cogprints – Cognitive Sciences E-Print Archives This link opens in a new window
An electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (eg artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (eg mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (eg ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (eg Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (eg primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.

Google Scholar @ MQ
Grey Literature Report
From the New York Academy of Medicine Library. While the Grey Literature report, newsletter and database are no longer being maintained, the resources are accessible here.
Grey Matters
Grey Matters is a free online tool for finding health-related grey literature that are not published commercially and which may be inaccessible via bibliographic databases
Mednar
A federated search engine that conducts real-time searching of peer-reviewed medical resources.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The largest central resource for US government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
OpenGrey
A system for information on grey literature in Europe.
World Health Organization
WHO Cancer Programs