This is the "Introduction" page of the "Bibliographic Referencing Software" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Bibliographic Referencing Software  

Last Updated: Mar 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mq.edu.au/referencing-software Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to use this guide

Most bibliographic management software allows you to:

  • Create bibliographic records for your citations, either by manual entry or electronically, mainly from databases and library catalogues.
  • Manage this data by allowing the addition of personal notes, attachments and sorting of records.
  • Link to word processing documents to insert in-text or footnote citations and construct bibliographies.
  • Access a range of citation styles.
  • Access a range of format types (book, journal article, book chapter).

Macquarie University has a licence for two bibliographic management software packages:

  • EndNote logo EndNote

  • Mendeley logo Mendeley

This guide provides information about these applications and other free software that has similar functionality.

Look at the information given for each of the software products and particularly note any information under Issues and Technical information that may pertain to your situation. Check information under the software description and then look at the support guides for specific products before deciding on the software you wish to use.

 

Citations

A citation provides information needed to locate a book, journal article or other resource. These are usually listed in a bibliography, index or database.

Book: Generally a book citation would include author, title, place of publication, publisher and date of publication.

Book citation example

Journal article: Generally, a journal article citation will include author, title of the article, title of the journal in which the article appeared, volume number, issue number, date of publication and pages on which the article appeared.

Journal article citation example

Different disciplines may use different forms or styles to cite references. These are called citation styles.

 

Citation styles

The Referencing guide provides examples of different citation styles.

 

Ask a Librarian

Need HELP with your assignment or research? 

Contact us

Call us on 1800 300 753
Email us

Chat with us

Visit us in person at the information desk in the Library
Research Librarians provide research consultations for Honours, Postgraduate and HDR students 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip