Skip to main content

Bibliographic Referencing Software

EndNote and AGLC4 style

The fourth edition of the Australian Guide to Legal Citation (AGLC4) provides a uniform style of legal citation and is designed for academics, legal practitioners, law students and the judiciary.

EndNote does not come with the citation style AGLC.

If you wish to use this style, modify EndNote by downloading then installing the Legal Reference Types and the AGLC4 style according to the steps in the box 'Modify EndNote for AGLC4 style'.

Note: This download for Legal Reference Types overwrites the existing EndNote categories (Hearing, Bill, Case etc).

If you require further information, consult the Australian Guide to Legal Citation.  A printed copy of this guide is available at the Library, and a PDF copy is also available (see links below).

Download EndNote

Follow the instructions on the EndNote for PC page or the EndNote for Mac page.

Modify EndNote for AGLC4 style

Once EndNote has been downloaded it requires modifying so you can use it with AGLC4 referencing style.

Step 1 : Install the special Legal Reference Types

Step 2 : Download the AGLC Reference Style

Step 3 : Select AGLC (UTS) as your Output Style
 

See the link below for more information from the University of Technology, Sydney:

Format bibliography

You may wish to select another style for your bibliography, eg Author Date, in order to place the author's surnames first. The Endnote Library can produce stand alone bibliographies.

  • With your Endnote Library open select an output style for the bibliography eg Author Date.

  • More styles can be viewed if you click Select Another Style, and then highlight the required style and click Choose.

  • Select the References you want to include in the bibliography

    • Hold Control and click selected records with your mouse.

    • Hold Control and press A to select all records.

  • Click Edit and then Copy Formatted.

  • Open Word, right click the mouse and select Paste.

  • The bibliography will appear in the selected style.

Categorise the bibliography

Bibliographies

If creating a bibliography, AGLC4 requires dividing the bibliography into categories with separate headings:

A. Articles/Books/Reports
B. Cases
C. Legislation
D. Treaties
E. Other

You can create a bibliography with headings for different categories within Word using EndNote.

Using a Mac

On the EndNote Toolbar, click on Bibliography, then select 'Configure Categories' from the drop-down menu. Click on the category headings to rename them. As a default they will appear as 'Primary Sources' and 'Secondary Sources'. The plus sign next to 'Category Headings' will add new categories. 

Select 'Uncategorized References' and drag references across into the different categories.

Categorise references screenshot

 

Using a PC

In the EndNote X9 ribbon, click on 'Categorize References' and then select 'Configure Categories'. Click on the category headings to rename them. As a default they will appear as 'Primary Sources' and 'Secondary Sources'. The plus sign next to 'Category Headings' will add new categories.

Select 'Uncategorized References' and drag references across into the different categories.

Create the bibliography

Once your categories are set up, your bibliography will automatically be created with each reference type under the appropriate heading. For more instructions see the link below:

Edit the bibliography

As the references are added into Word the Bibliography has been automatically placing the references into groups by type, eg A Articles/Books/Reports, B Cases etc but without the headings.

When you have finished your document, in Word select EndNote > Bibliography tab > Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Plain text.

Click Yes to save the document in the EndNote format and rename.  This is the master copy with the EndNote coding and should be retained.

With the plain text copy, edit the Bibliography manually by typing in the heading Bibliography.

Manually type in the heading above each of the different categories, eg A Articles/Books/Reports, B Cases etc.

Adjust the spacing and save the document.

Legal databases compatible with EndNote

Most legal databases don't support the direct transfer of citations into EndNote. This is due to requirement for different legal citation styles in different jurisdictions. The table below provides a list of legal journal databases that you can use to export references to EndNote. The table also provides basic instructions on how to perform the export, along with any issues you may encounter with each database.

Database

Provider

Direct Export instructions

Other information

AGIS Plus Text

Informit

1.     Mark Results

2.     Citation > Save

3.     Records to save > Marked Records

4.     Fields to save > Complete Record

5.     Output format > Endnote Direct

6.     Search History > Un-tick

7.     Save Records 

Reference details copied to Legal Note field

Authors often in ALL CAPS

 

CINCH

Informit

As above

As above

Google Scholar

Google

1.    Underneath each result select the link cite

2.    Underneath the citation, select the link Import into EndNote

2.     Click > Open

Can only transfer 1 reference at a time

 

Authors names sometimes in ALL CAPS

HeinOnline

HeinOnline

1.     Register & login to MyHein

2.     Mark Results

3.     At the bottom of the page find Save to MyHein Bookmarks > Save

4.     Select a subject ‘tag’ or assign a new one > Enter into Research

5.     In the ‘MyHein Saved Bookmarks’ page mark the records you want to export

6.     Options > Export to EndNote (Journal Articles) > Submit

7.     Click to Open

Can only export journal article references

Uses journal abbreviations

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

HeinOnline

As above

As above

Index to legal periodicals and books (H.W. Wilson)

EBSCO

1.     Select ‘Add to Folder’ for the references you want to export

2.     Right-hand side > Folder View

3.     Mark the records you want to export

4.     Export > Direct Export in RIS Format

5.     Save 

N/A

LegalTrac

Gale

1. Mark records you want to export

2. Click 'view all' in saved documents box

3. Tools > Citation tools

4. Select 'Endnote' under 'Export to third party software' > Export

5. Click to Open

Defaults to Reference Type ‘Magazine article’

 

Includes name of database and access date

EndNote Online

If you wish to use EndNote on a variety of computers and/or share references with other people, EndNote Online may be useful. EndNote Online can be used in conjunction with EndNote X7 or later.

Note: EndNote Online has fewer features, and does not accept modifications for AGLC4 styles or the Legal Reference type. 

For further information on EndNote Online see our guide.