Subject and Research Guides: Linguistics: SPHL3300

SPHL3300 Assignment documents and Video

SPLH3300 Student Handout
Supporting document to assist you with fulfilling important elements of the assignment.

SPHL3300: Presentation Video
This video is from a 2020 class presentation. Some of the introductory screens and navigation to resources are dated but essential information is still current.
0:00-6:00: a brief introduction of assignment support and study skills resources, including StudyWise and Library Subject and Research Guides
12:40-15:00: a demo search in database "Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA "
15:01- 21:29: finding Journal Impact Factors and ranking information in categories from "Journal Citation Reports"
21:30-26:45: Students' questions: including the differences of using MultiSearch, Google Scholar and specialised databases

Library Databases (for Searching and finding Impact factors)

Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. It has extensive coverage and is useful for both finding articles generally and evaluating journals (Sources) for citation impact. This makes it a particularly useful database for this assignment - you can search for articles AND find impact data about the journal in the same place.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA
On the PROQUEST platform, LLBA Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also includes good coverage of audiology and speech pathology topics especially from a language perspective. Some articles indicate citations however, we recommend you use other sources to evaluate the journals.
Medline
Medline is the same database as PubMed. We recommend using it on the OVID platform. It is a very good database for audiology and speech pathology topics. It defaults to the Advanced Search, but if you are unfamiliar with searching via Subject Headings, we suggest using the BASIC search mode which allows for natural language searching (ie more or less how you might search in Google Scholar or Multisearch). This database does not include citation impact data.
If you would like to see how the Advanced search works, see the Psycinfo demo video in the right hand column.
Journal Citation Reports
JCR provides Impact Factors for all the journals indexed by Web of Science. Impact Factor allows for the comparison and ranking of journals within the same discipline. The Impact Factor only measures the interest of other researchers in an article, not its importance and usefulness.

Scopus Source List
Scopus' equivalent to the journal list in JCR. Sources are mostly journals, here sorted by "CiteScore". You can filter results via a range of options including subject areas.

Google Scholar @ MQ
This link to Google Scholar will include MQ Library Links to the full text. While it probably isn't the first database we recommend for this assessment task, it is an easy place to search for articles and does include some citation impact data.