Subject and Research Guides: Social Sciences: Politics & International Relations

Key Databases for Politics & International Relations

Australian Urban Research Infrastructure Network (AURIN) The Australian Urban Research Infrastructure Network (AURIN) is an initiative of the Australian Government under the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS) and associated programmes, to drive research into Australia's urban settlements as complex systems in which human behaviour, production and consumption unfold within definable demographic, social, economic and environmental parameters. Notes Created in May 2012.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Produced by EBSCO, GreenFILE is a freely accessible searchable research database focusing on the relationship between human beings & the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
APAFT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text) This link opens in a new window Provides access to sources on Australia's political, economic and social affairs.
Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO) This link opens in a new window
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) is an open access knowledge hub and information service providing easy access to policy and practice research and resources.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.
CINCH : Australian criminology database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Australian Institute of Criminology, this database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice.
MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies This link opens in a new window
This collection is produced by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library and provides access to indexes and abstracts from a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Access to Euromonitor's reference and source data covering countries and consumer markets and includes historical statistics (from 1977) and forecasts, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis.
Reason in revolt : source documents of Australian radicalism This link opens in a new window
Brings together primary source documents of Australian radicalism in the 20th century.

For more resources, visit the guide homepage to see key databases for the Social Sciences.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Some full text is available through linking to subscribed journals.

Academic Search Premier
A searchable multisubject database which contains full text for thousands of scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Almost all academic areas of study are covered

World development indicators This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies.
Cambridge Histories Online - Global History This link opens in a new window
Covers World History (prehistory to present day), WWI and WW2, the Cold War, Capitalism, Communism, Food, Judaism, Human Disease, Medical Ethics, Science and Slavery.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable database containing many of the declassified United States government documents that led to policy decisions.
Janes Group This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable database in the specialist fields of: country risk analysis, defence, intelligence, military capabilities, security and terrorism.
Military Balance + This link opens in a new window
Produced by the International Institute for Strategic Studies, with information about the military capabilities and defence economics of over 170 countries worldwide, including analysis and data sets.
The Diplomat: read the Diplomat, know the Asia-Pacific This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to quality analysis and commentary on events occurring in Asia and around the world.
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
A compilation of full text archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements.
Middle East and Africa: a Reference Corporation world studies database This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic and fulltext database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America.
Secret Files from World Wars to Cold Wars 1873 to 1953 This link opens in a new window
Sourced from The National Archives, U.K., the range of full-text documents - from signals intelligence reports to government-directed policy and strategy - cover from the period of Appeasement right through to the early Cold War.
Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
US Intelligence on Asia 1945-1991 This link opens in a new window
Declassified documentary records about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991).

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO) This link opens in a new window
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) is an open access knowledge hub and information service providing easy access to policy and practice research and resources.

World Bank documents & reports
This database of World Bank documents is made available to the public to better share the institution's knowledge base and to implement the access to information policy.

Lexis Advance International This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering primary and secondary legal materials in all areas of law. The main focus is United States law, but there is also substantial international (including Australian) coverage.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
An international legal research database providing full text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs, etc from Hong Kong, the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, European Union.

Juriglobe
JuriGlobe is a research group on the world’s legal systems within the University of Ottawa’s Faculty of Law.

GlobaLex This link opens in a new window
Contains information and articles representing both research and teaching resources used by legal academics, practitioners and other specialists around the world in foreign, international, and comparative law research.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text legal journals, reviews, books, cases, statutes, etc. predominantly published in North America.
WorldLII : World Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
A free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility, providing access to a wealth of legal resources.

Internet Resources

BrowZine

Click on the link below for instructions on getting the BrowZine app with your MQ OneID;

Browzine This link opens in a new window