Subject and Research Guides: Critical Indigenous Studies: Databases, journals, news & publishers

Sources that privilege Indigenous research

Databases are:

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, reports and conference proceedings,
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline,
sometimes cross disciplinary.

APAFT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Australia This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window

BlackWords: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers and Storytellers (AustLit)

A+ Education This link opens in a new window Based on the Australian Education Index, this indexing and full text database provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of Australian education. Journal titles indexed include: Focus on Health Professional Education; Higher Education Research and Development; MJA, ANZ Journal of Surgery; Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education
Learning Ground: Indigenous Education Research Database This link opens in a new window Learning Ground is a database of research into Indigenous education. It provides access to latest national and international publications including books, articles, conference papers and reports. Contents span early childhood, post school education, adult learning, and encompasses areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, well-being, identity and oral language.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet This link opens in a new window The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet collects, collates and disseminates information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health issues. The website includes a bibliographic database, abstracts of theses, notification of conferences and research, media releases, contacts, basic facts about the health of and health policies related to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and links to other sites dealing with similar subject matter. The website is divided into specific health topics and conditions. It contains reviews, resources, organisations, programs, policies, etc on each section. In addition there is a free to access online bibliography called the HealthBulletin, as well as other publications like the Overview, Summary and reviews of specific health conditions.

Aboriginal History This link opens in a new window
AlterNative: an international journal of indigenous peoples This link opens in a new window
Australian Aboriginal Studies: journal of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies This link opens in a new window
International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies This link opens in a new window
Journal of Australian Indigenous Issues This link opens in a new window
Journal of Global Indigeneity This link opens in a new window
Journal of indigenous research This link opens in a new window
MAI Journal This link opens in a new window
NAIS: journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association This link opens in a new window
Settler Colonial Studies This link opens in a new window
Waka Kuaka: The Journal of the Polynesian Society This link opens in a new window

The Koori Mail This link opens in a new window

ABC Online Indigenous News
Blacademia
A podcast of yarns with First Nations/Indigenous academics.
Indigenous Film and Television
IndigenousX
National Indigenous Times
NITV Living Black

The Conversation (Australia) This link opens in a new window
The Guardian - Indigenous This link opens in a new window
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to newspapers and magazines online, including film and television reviews.