Skip to main content

MKTG1001 Marketing Fundamentals

About this guide

This guide provides links to resources you will need to complete this unit. It includes compulsory readings, suggested readings, texts, databases as well as information about referencing and how to locate other materials related to your studies.

See the Marketing guide to find out about other useful resources.

MultiSearch

MultiSearch is a single search interface that provides access to a large majority of Library resources. It works best when you are signed in. 

It includes:

  • books 
  • journals 
  • unit readings & exams
  • content within databases 
  • & much more

To find out more about MultiSearch and how to get the most out of it consult our MultiSearch guide.

Databases to get you started

Research Databases provide you with electronic access to journal articles, newspaper articles, statistical publications, encyclopaedias, legal material and reports.

Research Databases may be subject specific or cover many different topic areas. The databases below have full text academic journal articles relating to business, finance, economics and management.
 

LITERATURE RESEARCH DATABASES

  • Business Source Premier  Provides access to more than 3,600 full text scholarly business publication, including nearly 1,100 peer reviewed journals.
  • Emerald Management   Provides access to the full text of articles from peer reviewed journals, mainly in the subject area of management, published by Emerald.
  • ScienceDirect  Contains the full text of Elsevier books, journals and reference works and also includes citations and abstracts of other journals. Subject coverage includes business, management & social sciences.

COMPANY AND INDUSTRY DATABASES

  • IBISWorld Provides access to hundreds of company and industry reports. They cover over 2000 Australian companies almost every major industry in Australia and provide detailed analysis, statistics and commentary. 
  • FitchConnect This database provides access to daily macroeconomic, financial and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. Fitch reports (country updates and forecasts and industry surveys), data and forecasts (select and export, risk rating, market consensus); alerts and analysis (fixed income, equities, currencies, politics, economics, company and industry).
  • Passport  Provides in-depth industry reports, market analysis, consumer behaviour, company reports and demographic data in a number of different formats. The focus is on consumer goods.
  • D&B Hoovers Provides access to in-depth business information on the industries, companies (both public and private), executives and corporate family structures operating in the global market.