Subject and Research Guides: Philosophy: Ethics & Applied Ethics

Key sources in Ethics and Applied Ethics

Philosopher's index This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Histories - Philosophy & Political Thought This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Histories allows instant access to the philosophy texts of the Cambridge Histories series, searchable by author, title and subject.
Oxford scholarship online This link opens in a new window
We currently have full text access to some titles in the Classical studies, History, Law, Linguistics, Neuroscience, Philosophy and Political science subject modules, as well as abstracts for all titles.

Cambridge Core: Philosophy
Cambridge is widely regarded as one of the world’s premier publishers of philosophical research, having one of the most recognisable and distinguished books lists as well as a growing collection of leading journals. Our list brings a range of high-quality books by distinguished authors to readers at both student and specialist level. All periods and sub-areas of philosophy are covered, and the list is particularly strong in history of philosophy.
more...less...
This wide-ranging Philosophy collection of leading books and journals covers all periods and sub-areas of philosophy.

The philosophy department uses these blogs as a sound guide to the best journals.

Below are some of the Library's best philosophy journals:

American philosophical quarterly This link opens in a new window
Analysis This link opens in a new window
Australasian journal of philosophy This link opens in a new window
Canadian journal of philosophy This link opens in a new window
Ethics This link opens in a new window
Mind This link opens in a new window
Nous This link opens in a new window
Philosophical studies This link opens in a new window
Philosophy and phenomenological research This link opens in a new window
Philosophy & public affairs This link opens in a new window
The journal of philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Monist This link opens in a new window
The philosophical quartely This link opens in a new window
The philosophical review This link opens in a new window

Here are a few philosophy themed podcasts, but there are more at this link on FeedSpot.

In the CAVE
Join the team from Macquarie University’s Research Centre for Agency, Values and Ethics (CAVE) as they work through some of the most pressing ethical issues that could shape our future with leading academic experts. Explore the changing ethical questions that we face in contemporary life, from Artificial Intelligence doing medical diagnoses, to how robots may change the way we live.
Radio National Philosophers zone
History of Philosophy Without Any Gaps
Peter Adamson, Professor of Philosophy at the LMU in Munich and at King's College London, takes listeners through the history of philosophy, 'without any gaps'.
In Our Time | Philosophy
From Altruism to Wittgenstein, philosophers, theories and key themes.

Ethics & Applied Ethics

NAVIGATING THE LIBRARY

Call numbers to find books in the library.

We recommend browsing the shelf in the general area of the your subject interest. A good browse can throw up lots of ideas, as well as lead you into new areas of relevance.

Call number	Subject area
BJ	ethics
BF501-635	individual ethics, character, virtue
BJ1518	virtue
BL51	religion, rationalism
BC60	logic

Search terms to use in MultiSearch to find journal articles and other material

Here are some suggested terms:

Happiness, philosophy; political philosophy; moral philosophy; normative ethics; beneficence; conduct of life; philosophy of mind; virtue, friendship; moral goodness; human nature.

Some good general terms to mix with specific terms are:

Ideas; theories; debate; criticism and interpretation; discourse

Tip:

You can link your specific subject area with the term 'philosophy'.

An example for searching would be using the terms

"moral goodness" AND debate.

virtue AND philosophy

Use inverted comma's to link two words together as a phrase. The 'AND' in the middle is capitalized to link the terms.

Cambridge companions

When using the Cambridge Companions:

Choose your section (for instance, Philosophy, religion and culture)
Use the view all button on the right
Tick the box on the left which says: "only show content I have access to"

(Note that we have thousands of titles, but not everything)

Philosophy databases

Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window Go to the Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics or the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture collection to browse for relevant titles.

Philosophy

Key sources in Ethics and Applied Ethics

Ethics & Applied Ethics

Cambridge companions

Philosophy websites