Subject and Research Guides: Research Impact Metrics: Book Reviews and Library Holdings

Finding book and book chapter metrics

In a number of disciplines, especially Social Sciences and the Arts & Humanities, books and book chapters are significant forms of research output. These disciplines are not always well served by traditional tools of citation analysis such as Web of Science and Scopus that primarily focus on journal literature. Use the tools on this page to demonstrate the scholarly impact of your books and book chapters by citation metrics

Other indicators of the reception of a book or book chapter include:

use as a university textbook.
listed on Bestseller lists.
awards and honours received.
number of copies sold, editions and translations into other languages.

Google Scholar @ MQ This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases: Sciences Expanded (1889+), Social Sciences (1898+), Arts & Humanities (1975+). Book citation index. (2005+), Conference Proceedings, Science (1990+), Conference Proceedings, Social Science & Humanities (1990+), Emerging Sources Citation (2005+), Current Chemical Reactions (1985+), and Index Chemicus (1993+).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. It covers a large number of peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields, from an extensive range of international publishers. Also indexed are open access journals, conference proceedings, book series and trade publications, as well as patent records. References go back to 1996, while abstracts go back further. Linking to full-text articles is available.

Trove This link opens in a new window
Use the Title search function. To limit to Australian libraries select the Borrow function.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search by Title for worldwide and Australian libraries. Holdings will need to be tallied manually from each collection.

Library Hub Discover
Giving you access to details of materials held in many UK national, academic and specialist libraries.

Book reviews in academic journals can provide an indication of the reception of your research by the scholarly community. Reviews from popular sources, such as newspapers, may provide an indication of the impact of your research on the wider community. Many databases allow you to refine by Review as the format type.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window

Here are some of the key journals for book reviews held in print at the MQ Library.

Australian Book Review This link opens in a new window
London Review of Books This link opens in a new window