Subject and Research Guides: Security Studies: Cyber Security & Cyber Crime

Searching the Library's collection - Cyber Security

MultiSearch is our main search engine at the MQ Library. It's a great place to start looking for information for your assessments.
Use the MultiSearch Research Assistant to get you started if you are new to a topic. The Research Assistant (Beta) enables you to ask questions, which will generate an overview of the topic and cite five sources.

Specialist encyclopedias and handbooks are excellent works to consult for concise overviews of topics.

Cybercrime: an Encyclopedia of Digital Crime by Nancy E. Marion; Jason Twede
Publication Date: 2020
This important reference work is an extensive resource for students who want to investigate the world of cybercrime or for those seeking further knowledge of specific attacks both domestically and internationally.
Handbook of Research on Information and Cyber Security in the Fourth Industrial Revolution by Ziska Fields (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2018
This book explores the severity of the threats at personal, business, governmental and societal levels; as well as what can be done to enhance security at these different levels. It covers topics such as: malware, criminal and strategic hacking, botnets, innovative cyber-attacks, cyber terrorism, cybersecurity trends, cyber offensive and defensive capability, digital forensics, cloud security, and mobile security.

What are databases?

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, conference proceedings.
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline.
sometimes cross disciplinary.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Association for Computing Machinery journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC) covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This database from the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE standards.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. It covers a large number of peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields, from an extensive range of international publishers. Also indexed are open access journals, conference proceedings, book series and trade publications, as well as patent records. References go back to 1996, while abstracts go back further. Linking to full-text articles is available.

Cybersecurity This link opens in a new window
This journal is aimed to systematically cover all essential aspects of cybersecurity, with a focus on reporting on cyberspace security issues, the latest research results, and real-world deployment of security technologies.
Journal of Cybersecurity This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes accessible articles describing original research in the inherently interdisciplinary cyber domain. Included are; anthropological and cultural studies, computer science and security, security and crime science, cryptography and associated topics, security economics, modelling, legal aspects, political and policy perspectives, strategy and international relations and privacy.
Journal of Cybersecurity and Privacy This link opens in a new window
This journal is an open access journal of scientific research on all technical areas of cybersecurity. The aim is to provide an advanced forum for displaying information, computer and network security, cryptography, cyber–physical system security, digital forensics etc.

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO) This link opens in a new window
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) is an open access knowledge hub and information service providing easy access to policy and practice research and resources.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to newspapers and magazines online, including film and television reviews.
The Diplomat: read the Diplomat, know the Asia-Pacific This link opens in a new window
The Diplomat has been dedicated to quality analysis and commentary on events occurring in Asia and around the world. The Diplomat reaches an influential audience of commentators, policymakers and academics with its in-depth treatment of regional issues.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.

Searching the Library's collection - Cyber Crime

MultiSearch is our main search engine at the MQ Library. It's a great place to start looking for information for your assessments.
Use the MultiSearch Research Assistant to get you started if you are new to a topic. The Research Assistant (Beta) enables you to ask questions, which will generate an overview of the topic and cite five sources.

Specialist encyclopedias and handbooks are excellent works to consult for concise overviews of topics.

Cybercrime: an Encyclopedia of Digital Crime by Nancy E. Marion; Jason Twede
Publication Date: 2020
This important reference work is an extensive resource for students who want to investigate the world of cybercrime or for those seeking further knowledge of specific attacks both domestically and internationally.
Cybercrime and Digital Deviance by Roderick Graham & 'Shawn K. Smith
Publication Date: 2024
Cybercrime and Digital Deviance combines insights from sociology, criminology, psychology, and cybersecurity to explore cybercrimes such as hacking, identity theft, and romance scams, along with forms of digital deviance.

What are databases?

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, conference proceedings.
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline.
sometimes cross disciplinary.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Association for Computing Machinery journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC) covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database is a large multidisciplinary collection with excellent coverage for the discipline of cybercrime.

Computer Fraud & Security This link opens in a new window
This journal aims to provide a comprehensive platform that bridges the gap between academic research and practical application in the world of computer fraud & security.
International Journal of Cyber Criminology This link opens in a new window
This journal is a peer reviewed interdisciplinary journal published biannually and devoted to the study of cyber crime, cyber criminal behavior, cyber victims, cyber laws and cyber investigations.

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO) This link opens in a new window
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) is an open access knowledge hub and information service providing easy access to policy and practice research and resources.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to newspapers and magazines online, including film and television reviews.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.

Useful websites

Australian Cyber Security Centre, Australian Signals Directorate
The Australian Signals Directorate (ASD) is a vital member of Australia’s national security community, working across the full spectrum of operations required of contemporary signals intelligence and security agencies: intelligence, cyber security and offensive operations in support of the Australian Government and Australian Defence Force (ADF).