Subject and Research Guides: Security Studies: Intelligence

Searching the Library's collection

MultiSearch is our main search engine at the MQ Library. It's a great place to start looking for information for your assessments.
Use the MultiSearch Research Assistant to get you started if you are new to a topic. The Research Assistant (Beta) enables you to ask questions, which will generate an overview of the topic and cite five sources.

Specialist encyclopedias and handbooks are excellent works to consult for concise overviews of topics

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by Lester R. Kurtz (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2008
Covering topics as diverse as Arms Control, Peace Movements, Child Abuse, Folklore, Terrorism and Political Assassinations, the Encyclopedia comprehensively addresses an extensive information area in 225 multi-disciplinary, cross-referenced and authoritatively authored articles.
Handbook of International Relations by Walter Carlsnaes, Thomas Risse & Beth A. Simmons (Editors)
Publication Date: 2012
The Handbook of International Relations is an essential benchmark publication for all advanced undergraduates, graduate students and academics in politics and international relations.
Routledge Handbook of Security Studies by Balzacq, Thierry & Dunn Cavelty, Myriam.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2017
This handbook covers topics such as pandemics and environmental degradation to more traditional concerns about direct violence, international terrorism and inter-state armed conflict.

What are databases?

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, conference proceedings.
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline.
sometimes cross disciplinary.

Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Chatham House is a world-leading centre for policy research in international affairs. This collection contains 90 years of high level analysis and research on global trends, key events and issues from 1920 to 2008.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search for a company name or a subject area and look at the Company Reports.
Janes Group This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable database in the specialist fields of: country risk analysis, defence, intelligence, military capabilities, security and terrorism.
Military Database by Proquest This link opens in a new window
Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications and civil engineering.

International Security This link opens in a new window
International Security publishes essays on all aspects of the control and use of force. Its articles cover contemporary policy issues, and probe historical and theoretical questions behind them. Essays in International Security have defined the debate on American national security policy and have set the agenda for scholarship on international security affairs.
International Studies Quarterly This link opens in a new window
This journal seeks to publish leading scholarship that engages with significant theoretical, empirical, and normative subjects in international studies
Journal of Peace Research This link opens in a new window

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO) This link opens in a new window
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) is an open access knowledge hub and information service providing easy access to policy and practice research and resources.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to newspapers and magazines online, including film and television reviews.
The Diplomat: read the Diplomat, know the Asia-Pacific This link opens in a new window
The Diplomat has been dedicated to quality analysis and commentary on events occurring in Asia and around the world. The Diplomat reaches an influential audience of commentators, policymakers and academics with its in-depth treatment of regional issues.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.

Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Chatham House is a world-leading centre for policy research in international affairs. This collection contains 90 years of high level analysis and research on global trends, key events and issues from 1920 to 2008.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
This database contains many of the declassified United States government documents that led to policy decisions. MQ has access to the collections on; Afghanistan, China, El Salvador: war peace and human rights, Iran, the Philippines, South Africa, Terrorism, United States, North and South Korea.
US Intelligence on Asia 1945-1991 This link opens in a new window
This resource provides declassified documentary records about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). Particular emphasis is given to America's principal antagonists in Asia during the Cold War era: the People's Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. Also covered are Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Australia