Skip to Main Content

Chicago 18th Referencing

Instructions and links for Referencing support

Citing journal articles

  • In a footnote, cite specific page numbers.
  • In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article.
  • For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.
  • The title of the journal is italicised. 

Journal article

Elements of footnote:

Author First Name/s Family Name, “Title of article,” Title of Journal Volume, No. Issue (Year): Page(s), DOI/Database Name/URL (if online).

Footnote:

9 Ahmed Ismail, "The Influence of Perceived Social Media Marketing Activities on Brand Loyalty: The Mediation Effect of Brand and Value Consciousness," Asia Pacific Journal of Marketing and Logistics 29, no. 1 (2017): 129-44, https://doi.org/10.1108/APJML-10-2015-0154.

Subsequent Notes:

10 Ismail, "The Influence of Perceived," 129-44.

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author Family Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Publication Volume, no. Issue (Year): Pages. DOI/Database Name or URL if online.

 

Bibliography entry:

Ismail, Ahmed. "The Influence of Perceived Social Media Marketing Activities on Brand Loyalty: The Mediation Effect of Brand and Value Consciousness." Asia Pacific Journal of Marketing and Logistics 29, no. 1 (2017): 129-44. https://doi.org/10.1108/APJML-10-2015-0154.

Elements of footnote:

Two authors

Author 1 First Name/s Family Name and Author 2 First Name/s Family Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Publication Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page(s), DOI / Database Name or URL if online.

More than two authors

Author 1 First Name/s Family Name et al., “Title of Article,” Title of Publication Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page(s), DOI / Database Name or URL if online.

 

Footnote:

8 Wenhao Wu and Qi He, "The Roles of Moral Disengagement and Learned Helplessness Towards International Postgraduate Students’ Academic Procrastination," Psychology Research and Behavior Management 15, no.10 (2022): 1092, https://doi.org/10.2147/PRBM.S343135,

 

12  Thomas Danne et al., "Long‐Term Study of Tubeless Insulin Pump Therapy Compared to Multiple Daily Injections in Youth with Type 1 Diabetes: Data from the German/Austrian Dpv Registry." Pediatric Diabetes 19, no. 5 (2018): 979-84. https://doi.org/10.1111/pedi.12658.

 

Subsequent Notes:

9 Wu and He, "The Roles of Moral," 1098.

14 Danne et al., "Long Term Study," 982.

Elements of bibliography entry:

Two to six authors

Author 1 Family Name, First Name and Subsequent Authors Full Names. "Title of Article.” Title of Publication Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page(s). DOI or URL if online.

More than six authors

Author 1 Family Name, First Name, Author 2 First Name Family Name, Author 3 First Name Family Name, et al. "Title of Article.” Title of Publication Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page(s). DOI or URL if online.

 

Bibliography entry:

Wu, Wenhao, and Qi He. "The Roles of Moral Disengagement and Learned Helplessness Towards International Postgraduate Students' Academic Procrastination." Psychology Research and Behavior Management 15 (2022): 1085-104. https://doi.org/10.2147/PRBM.S343135.

 

Danne, Thomas, Anke Schwandt, Torben Biester, et al. "Long‐Term Study of Tubeless Insulin Pump Therapy Compared to Multiple Daily Injections in Youth with Type 1 Diabetes: Data from the German/Austrian Dpv Registry." Pediatric Diabetes 19, no. 5 (2018): 979-84. https://doi.org/10.1111/pedi.12658.

Note:

  • Multiple authors are listed in the same order as they appear on the title page, which may not necessarily be alphabetical order.
  • For articles with more than two authors, the note citation should list only the first author, followed by “et al.”
  • Only the first-listed name is inverted in the bibliography (i.e. Family Name, First Name).
  • Name up to six authors in the bibliography; if there are more than six, list only the first three, followed by “et al.”
  • Note that the example for 'more than six authors' above includes an article ID in place of a page range, see Chicago Manual rule 14.7