Skip to Main Content

Chicago 18th Referencing

Instructions and links for Referencing support

Citing books

  • A reference to a book must include enough information to lead interested readers to the source.
  • The title of the book is italicised. 
  • List the name of the author(s) or editor(s) or, if none are listed, name of institution standing in their place. An author’s name and the title of a book should generally be cited according to how it appears on the title page.
  • Multiple authors are listed in the same order as they appear on the title page, which may not necessarily be alphabetical order.
  • For books with more than two authors, the note citation should list only the first author, followed by "et al."
  • Only the first-listed name is inverted in the bibliography for Authors/  / Editors. Family Name, First Name).
  • Name up to six authors in the bibliography; if there are more than six, list only the first three, followed by "et al."

Books

Elements of footnote:

Author First Name Family Name, Title of Book, Edition (Publisher, Year), Page(s).

Footnote:

1 Evan Leybourn, Directing the Agile Organisation: A Lean Approach to Business Management, 2nd ed. (IT Governance Publishing, 2013) 42.

Subsequent Notes:

4 Leybourn, Directing the agile organisation, 82

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author Family Name, First Name/s). Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Publisher, Year. 

Bibliography entry:

Leybourn, Evan. Directing the Agile Organisation: A Lean Approach to Business Management. 2nd ed. IT Governance Publishing, 2013.

Elements of footnote:

Two authors

Author 1 First Name/s Family Name and Author 2 First Name/s Family Name, Title of Book: Subtitle, Edition. (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

 
More than two authors

Author 1 First Name Family Name et al., Title of Book: Subtitle, Edition. (Publisher, Year of publication), Page(s).

Footnote:

2 Erin Bell and Ann Gray, Televising History: Mediating the Past in Postwar Europe. (Palgrave Macmillan, 2010), 108.

6 Nikolaj Bijleveld et al., Reforming Senates: Upper Legislative Houses in North Atlantic Small Powers 1800-Present. 1st edition. (Routledge, 2019), 254

 

Subsequent Notes:.

9 Bell and Gray, Televising History, 124

14  Bijleveldet al., Reforming Senates, 86

Elements of bibliography entry:

Two to six authors

Author 1 Family Name, First Name, and Subsequent Author/s First Name Family Name. Title of Book: Subtitle. Publisher, Year of publication.

 
More than six authors

Author 1 Family Name, First Name, Author 2 First Name Family Name, Author 3 First Name Family Name, et al. Title of Book: Subtitle. Edition. Publisher, Year of publication.

 

Bibliography entry:

Bell, Erin, and Ann Gray. Televising History : Mediating the Past in Postwar Europe. Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.

Bijleveld, Nikolaj, Colin Grittner, David E. Smith, et al. Reforming Senates: Upper Legislative Houses in North Atlantic Small Powers 1800-Present. 1st ed. Routledge, 2019. 

 

Note: Edited books usually contain chapters written by different authors. In most cases, you would actually want to reference the individual chapters you use from the edited book, not the edited book itself. See the Book chapters page for more information.

 

Elements of footnote:

Editor Name First Name/s Family Name, ed., Title of Book: Subtitle, Edition. (Publisher, Year), Page(s).

Footnote:

 9 Aleksei V. Bogoviz, ed., Big Data in Information Society and Digital Economy, (Springer International Publishing AG, 2023). 52

Subsequent Notes:

10 Bogoviz, Big Data in Information: 74

Elements of bibliography entry:

Editor Family Name, First Name/s, ed. Title of Book: Subtitle. Edition. Publisher, Year of publication.

Bibliography entry:

Bogoviz, Aleksei V., ed. Big Data in Information Society and Digital Economy. Springer International Publishing AG, 2023.

Note:

  • For an edited book, place the editor names in the author position followed by ed. (for editor) or eds (for editors). Note that the subsequent footnote/s does not include ed.
  • Works prepared by multiple editors follow the same patterns as books written by multiple authors.

Elements of footnote:

Author First Name Family Name/s,  Book Title: Subtitle, Edition, trans. Translator (First Name/s  Family Name) (Publisher, Year of Publication), Page(s)

 Footnote:

5 Peter Wohlleben, The Hidden Life of Trees: What They Feel, How They Communicate; Discoveries from a Secret World, trans. Jane Billinghurst (Black Inc., 2016), 58.

Subsequent Notes:

9 Wohlleben, Hidden Life of Trees, 74

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author Family Name, First Name/s. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Translated by First Name/s  Family Name. Publisher, Year of Publication. 

Bibliography entry:

Wohlleben, Peter. The Hidden Life of Trees: What They Feel, How They Communicate; Discoveries from a Secret World. Translated by Jane Billinghurst. Black Inc, 2016. 

Elements of footnote:

Author First Name/s Family Name, Title of Book, (Publisher, year), Page(s) or Chapter  Number, URL/DOI/Format/Device/Database name.

Footnote:

6 Rob Chapman, A Very Irregular Head: The Life of Syd Barrett, (Da Capo Press, 2010) 329, ProQuest Ebook Central.

23 J.G. Ballard, The Drowned World (Harper Perennial, n.d.), loc. 428 of 2960, Kindle.

Subsequent Notes:

9 Chapman, A Very Irregular Head, 74

25 Ballard, The Drowned World, loc. 438 of 2960, Kindle.

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author Family Name, First Name/s. Title of Book. Publisher, Year. URL/DOI/Format/Device/Database name.

Bibliography entry:

Ballard, J.G.. The Drowned World. Harper Perennial, n.d.. Kindle.

Chapman, Rob. A Very Irregular Head: The Life of Syd Barrett. Da Capo Press, 2010. ProQuest Ebook Central.

Note:

  • Multiple authors follow the same rules as detailed in the "Books With Multiple Authors" section. 
  • Remove the University proxy (simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au) from any link used.
  • Do not insert a hyphen if you need to break a URL across lines. Break the URL before a slash or dash or at another logical division point.
  • Include a full-stop after the URL at the end of the reference.
  • Use the chapter DOI for the pinpoint section in footnotes if available; use the DOI for the book in the bibliography.

Elements of footnote:

Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

Footnote:

9 A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced (London, 1610). 10.

Subsequent Notes:

11 A True and Sincere Declaration, 8.

Elements of bibliography entry:

Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

Bibliography entry:

A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced. London, 1610.

Elements of footnote:

Author(s) of chapter First Name/s Family Name, “Title of Chapter: Subtitle,” in Title of Book:Subtitle, ed. Editor(s) First Name/s Family Name (Publisher, Year), Page(s).

Footnote:

8 Patrick Jory, "Republicanism in Thai History," in A Sarong for Clio: Essays on the Intellectual and Cultural History of Thailand, ed. Maurizio Peleggi (Cornell University Press, 2015), 99.

Subsequent Notes:

9 Jory, "Republicanism in Thai History": 102

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author of chapter Family Name, First Name/s. “Title of chapter.” In Title of Book: Subtitle, edited by Editor/s (First Name/s Family Name). Publisher, Year.

Bibliography entry:

Jory, Patrick. "Republicanism in Thai History." In A Sarong for Clio: Essays on the Intellectual and Cultural History of Thailand, edited by Maurizio Peleggi. Cornell University Press, 2015.