Skip to Main Content

Chicago 18th Referencing

Instructions and links for Referencing support

Citing webpages

  • To cite a webpage, state the title or description of the specific page; the title or description of the site as a whole; the owner or sponsor of the site; and a URL. The word website (or web page) may be added (in parentheses) after the title or description of the site if the nature of the source is unclear. 
  • Publication date or date of revision or modification; if no such date can be determined, include an access date. For frequently updated resources, a time stamp may be included and keep a copy. 
  • If there's no author, in the notes, list the title first and in a bibliography entry, list the source under the owner of the site.
  • In the note and reference enclose titled sections or pages of websites in quotation marks. Do not enclose titles of entire websites in quotation marks.
  • Dates should be as specific as possible (e.g., include Month and Day where available).
  • If no publication or modification date is provided use the date that you accessed the material (e.g., accessed September 30, 2022).
  • Online sources may not have fixed page numbers, use other locators such as section headings if needed.

Webpage

Elements of footnote:

Author Name First Name/s Family Name. "Title or description of specific page," Title/description of website, Month DD, YYYY (of publication, revision or access), URL.

Footnote:

22 Stephanie McCarter, "Rape, Lost in Translation: How Translators of Ovid’s “Metamorphoses” Turn an Assault Into a Consensual Encounter," Electric Lit, May 01, 2018, https://electricliterature.com/rape-lost-in-translation-7d069ce39d12.

Subsequent Notes:

27 McCarter, "Rape, lost in translation."

 

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author/s Family Name, First Name/s. "Webpage Title." Website Name. Month DD, YYYY (of publication, revision or access). URL.

Bibliography entry:

McCarter, Stephanie. "Rape, Lost in Translation: How Translators of Ovid’s “Metamorphoses” Turn an Assault Into a Consensual Encounter." Electric Lit. May 01, 2018. https://electricliterature.com/rape-lost-in-translation-7d069ce39d12.

Elements of footnote:

Author of post First Name/s Last Name OR Organisation (handle where available), "Text of post (up to 280 characters)," Social Media Platform type of post, Date of post Month DD, Year, URL.

Footnote:

5 Macquarie University (@macquarieuni). “ Open Day 2023 - did we see you there? #myMQ,” Instagram photo, August 12, 2023, https://www.instagram.com/p/Cv1x79aumvS/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=ODhhZWM5NmIwOQ==.

Subsequent Notes:

8 Macquarie University, "Open Day 2023"

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author of Post Last Name, First Name/s OR Organisation (handle where available). "Text of Post (up to 280 characters)." Social Media Platform type of post. Date of post Month, DD, Year. URL.

Bibliography entry:

Macquarie University (@macquarieuni). “ Open Day 2023 - did we see you there? #myMQ,” Instagram photo, August 12, 2023, https://www.instagram.com/p/Cv1x79aumvS/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=ODhhZWM5NmIwOQ==.

Note:

Citations of content posted to social media can usually be limited to the text. A note may be added if a more formal citation is needed. In rare cases, a bibliography entry may also be appropriate. In place of a title, quote up to the first 280 characters of the post. Comments are cited in reference to the original post.

Elements of footnote:

Author First Name/s Last Name, "Title of Blog Post," Title of Blog (blog), Date of post Month DD, Year URL.

Footnote:

23 Inger Mewburn, “Mind the Gap (in the Literature),” The Thesis Whisperer (blog), May 26, 2023, https://thesiswhisperer.com/2023/05/26/literaturereviewpain/

Subsequent Notes:

25 Mewburn, "Mind the Gap."

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author Last Name, First Name/s. "Title of Blog Post." Title of Blog (blog). Date of post Month DD, Year. URL.

Bibliography entry:

Mewburn, Inger. “Mind the Gap (in the Literature),” The Thesis Whisperer (blog), May 26, 2023, https://thesiswhisperer.com/2023/05/26/literaturereviewpain/