Chicago 18th Referencing

Elements of footnote

First Presenter Full Name and Second Presenter’s Full Name, “Episode Title,” Month DD, YYYY produced, in Production Title, produced by Producer Full Name, podcast, file format, duration, URL.

Footnote

^26. Lynne James, “The Reinventing Memory,” episode 17, October 21, 2024, in All in the Mind, Sydney: ABC Radio National, https://www.abc.net.au/listen/programs/allinthemind/the-reinventing-memory/4315626.

Subsequent notes

^29. James, "The Reinventing Memory."

Elements of bibliography

First Presenter Surname, First Name and Second Presenter Full Name. “Episode Title.” Month DD, YYYY produced. In Production Title. Produced by Producer Full Name. Podcast, File Format. Duration. URL.

James, Lynne. “The Reinventing Memory.” October 21, 2024. In All in the Mind. Produced by John Stevens. Podcast. 18:04. https://www.abc.net.au/listen/programs/allinthemind/the-reinventing-memory/4315626.

Note

• In most cases, you can cite podcasts only in notes. Include them in your bibliography only if they are critical to your argument or frequently cited.
• To cite a podcast, locate as much of the following information as possible: name of the creator or host, title of the podcast and episode, publisher if relevant, date it was recorded, URL. 
• Give the creator's name exactly as listed, even if it is clearly a pseudonym. If the creator's real name can be easily determined, include it in square brackets.

Element of the footnote

Note number. Author Full Name, medium if relevant, Month DD, YYYY

Footnote

^2.  Jon Bon Jovi, email correspondence with author, March 03, 2025

Subsequent notes

^3. Bon Jovi, email.

Notes

• Personal  communications via mediums including letter, email, text message, or social media can be cited in a note or within the text, but are rarely listed in the bibliography. If they are critical to your argument, or frequently cited, then do include in the bibliography.
• Conversations, unpublished letters, emails and text messages are classed as personal communications
• An unpublished interview citation should include both the person being interviewed, and the interviewer, as well as the location of any transcripts (or if available on request). 
• Citations of personal communications should always omit any personal data (email address, cell phone number, etc). 
• Personal communications are typically also left out of the bibliography.

Elements of footnote

Note number. Presenter, "Title of Speech/Lecture," Date of performance, Other relevant information. Publisher catalogue number, Year, format.

Footnote

²  Toni Morrison, “Nobel Lecture,” December 7, 1993, Grand Hall of the Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden, MPEG-4, 33:18, https://www.nobelprize.org/mediaplayer/. 

Subsequent footnote, same source

²³  Morrison, Nobel Lecture.

Bibliography entry

Toni Morrison, “Nobel Lecture,” December 7, 1993, Grand Hall of the Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden, MPEG-4, https://www.nobelprize.org/mediaplayer/. 

Note: 

• Choose the composer, the producer or the performer as the primary person, depending on the context of your work
• Include additional information such as other contributors, the year and location of the recording that could assist interested readers locate the source.
• List the file format or the name of the streaming service if helpful for the reader.

Interviews in news broadcasts (aired on television, radio etc)

Element of the footnote

Note Number. Interviewee Full Name, interview by Interviewer Full Name, Title of Program, Month DD, YYYY of broadcast, format or type of broadcast. URL.

Footnote

^2.  John Jones, interview by Barack Obama, Foreign Correspondent, April 3, 2025, podcast, https://www.abc.net.au/news/2025-04-03/foodinwarzones/28015

Subsequent notes

^3.  Jones, interview.

Notes

• Published interviews generally follow the patterns of the document types they are published within.
• References to interviews consulted online can include a DOI (preferred) or a URL.

Primary source quoted in a secondary source

Elements of footnote

Primary Source Author Full Name, Title of Book (Publisher, Year of publication), Pages, quoted in Secondary Source Author Full Name, Title of Book (Publisher, Year of publication), Pages.

^1. Hastings Ismay, The Memoirs of General Lord Ismay (New York: Viking, 1960), 199, quoted in James Holland, The Battle of Britain (St. Martin’s Press, 2010), 335.

Subsequent footnote

^2. Ismay, Memoirs, quoted in Holland, The Battle of Britain, 335.

Elements of bibliography entry

Secondary Source Author Surname, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year.

Bibliography entry

Holland, James. The Battle of Britain. St. Martin’s Press, 2010.

A primary source in a book

Elements of footnote

Primary source Author Full Name, "Title" or short description of source in Title of Book: Subtitle, ed. Editor Full Name (Publisher, Year of publication), Pages.

^1. Giunta, son of Bonnaccorso of Florence, contract drawn up for the sale of the slave, Maimona, to Raimondo Barbiere, 11 May 1248, Genoa, in Medieval Trade in the Mediterranean World: Illustrative Documents, trans. and ed. Robert Sabatino Lopez, Irving Woodworth Raymond, and Olivia Remie Constable (Columbia University Press, 2001), 116.

Subsequent footnote

^2. Giunta, son of Bonnaccorso of Florence, contract for the sale of the slave, Maimona, 116.

Elements of bibliography entry

Primary source Author Surname, First Name. "Title" or short description of source. In Title of Book: Subtitle. Edited by Editor Full Name. Publisher, Year of publication.

Giunta, son of Bonnaccorso of Florence. Contract drawn up for the sale of the slave, Maimona, to Raimondo Barbiere, 11 May 1248, Genoa. In Medieval Trade in the Mediterranean World: Illustrative Documents. Translated and edited by Robert Sabatino Lopez, Irving Woodworth Raymond, and Olivia Remie Constable. Columbia University Press, 2001.

Note

• This is how you cite a source you've found in a collection of primary sources like a reader, or sourcebook. It's very similar to citing a chapter in an edited book.
• See the Books page for variations e.g. multiple authors.
• Descriptions of documents are not enclosed in quotation marks or italicised.

Elements of footnote:

Author/s (First Name Family Name), "Title: Subtitle," Course Code: Course Name.  Type of work, University name, Month Day Year, URL or iLearn.

Footnote:

⁹ Brett White, “Control + Ethics & CSR,” MGMT1002: Principles of Management. Lecture slides, Macquarie University, North Ryde, September 30, 2024, iLearn. 

Subsequent Notes:

¹⁰ White, "Control + Ethics."

Elements of bibliography entry:

Lecturer Surname, First Name. “Title of Lecture: Subtitle.” Unit Code: Title of Unit. Lecture, University Name, Location, Month DD, YYYY. URL.

Bibliography entry:

White, Brett, “Control + Ethics & CSR.” MGMT1002: Principles of Management. Lecture slides,  Macquarie University, North Ryde, Australia, September 30, 2023. iLearn. 

Note:

• References to university lecture recordings and presentation slides follow similar patterns to other audiovisual material and presentations.

As viewed in cinema, or other mediums.

Elements of footnote

Note number. Title of Production, directed by Full Name (Year of release; Publisher, Year of publication), Format/URL/Platform.

OR

Note number. “Title of the Scene,” Title of Production, directed by Full Name (Year of release; Publisher, Year of publication), Format/URL/Platform.

Footnote

^1.  Gladiator 11, directed by Ridley Scott (2024; Sydney, Warner Bros Pictures, 2025), Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.

^2. Nomadland, directed by Chloé Zhao (Searchlight Pictures, 2020), https://www.hulu.com/movie/nomadland-dcd9cb83-0636-46ef-8cbd-b9d994672e83.

OR

^3. “Crop Duster Attack,” North by Northwest, directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1959; Warner Home Video, 2000), DVD.

Subsequent notes

^4. Scott, Gladiator 11.

^5. Zhao, Nomadland.

^6. Hitchcock, “Crop Duster Attack.”

Elements of bibliography entry

Director's Family Name, First Name, director. Title of Film. Production Company or Distributor, Year of Release. Medium (if not in a theatre).

Bibliography entry

Scott, Ridley, dir. Gladiator 11. Warner Bros, 2024. 

Note: 

• How you reference audio-visual materials will vary according to the nature of the material.  Any facts relevant to identifying the item should be included.  
• Include both the original release year of the film as well as the year that the video was released.
• For a film watched online, include the URL or database name.

Elements of footnote:

Note number. Author’s Family Name, First Name, "Thesis Title: Subtitle" (Type of Thesis, Institution, Year of award), pages cited, URL or database name

Footnote example

^17. Michelle Boulous Walker, "Philosophy and Silence: Reading the Maternal Body" (PhD thesis, University of Queensland, 1996), 99, https://espace.library.uq.edu.au/view/UQ:312117.

Subsequent notes

^18. Walker, "Philosophy and Silence", 12-14.

Elements of bibliography entry

Author’s Last Names, First Name. "Thesis Title: Subtitle." Type of Thesis, Institution, Year. URL

Bibliography Example

Walker, Michelle Boulous. "Philosophy and Silence: Reading the Maternal Body." PhD thesis., University of Queensland, 1996. https://espace.library.uq.edu.au/view/UQ:312117.

Note:

• Titles of theses and dissertations appear in quotation marks—not in italics; otherwise, they are cited like books.
• The kind of thesis, the academic institution, and the date follow the title. Like the publication data for a book, these are enclosed in parentheses in a note but not in a bibliography.
• If the thesis is downloaded from a commercial database, replace the Http link with the database name, ie Proquest.

Elements of footnote

Author of  Paper, A., and B. Author of Paper. Year. "Title of Paper." Paper presented at Title of Conference: Subtitle of Conference, Location, Date. https://doi.org/10.XXX/XXXXX.XX

Footnote

Elements of footnote

Author First name and Family name, "Title in inverted commas" Unpublished manuscript, version date

Footnote

²¹ John East, "The Duhig building: changing configurations of a library space at the University of Queensland" unpublished manuscript, January 17 2018

Subsequent notes:

²² East, "The Duhig building"

• Unpublished manuscripts that are unavailable for others to consult may be mentioned in the text or in a note but are not usually included in a bibliography or reference list.
• Titles of unpublished manuscripts, like the titles of other unpublished works, appear in quotation marks.
• Include the words unpublished manuscript and the date of the version consulted, if known; for electronic files, a last-saved or last-modified date may be appropriate.
• When a book is under contract with a publisher and is already titled, but the date of publication is not yet known, forthcoming is used in place of the date.
• Parentheses, used in previous versions of Chicago, are no longer required.

Elements of footnote:

Reviewer's First Name Family Name, "Title of Review [if any]," review of Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, by Book Author/Editor's First Name Last Name, Name of Journal in which review appears Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Date of Publication): Page Number of Exact Citation, https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Footnote

²³  Tanya Khovanova, review of Love and Math: The Heart of Hidden Reality, by Edward Frenkel, The College Mathematics Journal 45, no. 3 (2014): 230, https://doi.org/10.4169/college.math.j.45.3.230.

Subsequent notes:

²⁸ Khovanova, review of Love and Math, 231. 

Elements of bibliography entry

Reviewer's Family Name, First Name. "Title of Review [if any]." Review of Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, by Book Author/Editor's First Name Last Name. Name of Journal in which review appears Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Date of Publication): First Page Number of Article-Last Page Number of Article. https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Bibliography entry

Khovanova, Tanya. Review of Love and Math: The Heart of Hidden Reality, by Edward Frenkel. The College Mathematics Journal 45, no. 3 (2014): 230-231. https://doi.org/10.4169/college.math.j.45.3.230.

Note

• This is for a book review in a journal.

The Chicago Manual of Style refers to The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation for referencing legal publications. However, this does not cover Australian materials. For Australian resources, the Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th edition (AGLC4) has been used. The examples here are based on this format.

Reported Cases:

Footnote

Party Names (Year) Volume Law report abbreviation Page number, Pinpoint (Judicial Officer)

Commonwealth v Tasmania (1983) 158 CLR 1, 291 (Dean J)

Bibliography

Commonwealth v Tasmania (1983) 158 CLR 1

Acts or Statutes:

Footnote

Title Year Jurisdiction Pinpoint or page number

Crimes Act 1958 (Vic) s 3

Bibliography

Crimes Act 1958 (Vic)

Jurisdiction:

• Cth (Commonwealth)
• ACT (Australian Capital Territory) 
• NSW (New South Wales)
• NT (Northern Territory)
• Qld (Queensland)
• SA (South Australia)
• Tas (Tasmania)
• Vic (Victoria)
• WA (Western Australia)

For all other resource types please refer to the full AGLC4 Guide.

Elements

Artist, Title: subtitle, Date, Medium, Location.

Footnote

²⁶ Salvador Dalí, The Persistence of Memory, 1931, oil on canvas, 9½ × 13″ (24.1 × 33 cm), Museum of Modern Art, New York. 

Subsequent notes

²⁸ Dali, Memory.

Elements of bibliography entry

Artist. Title in italics. Date of creation or completion, information about the medium. Location of the work.

Bibliography Entry

Dali, Salvador. The Persistence of Memory. 1931, oil on canvas, 9½ × 13″ (24.1 × 33 cm). Museum of Modern Art, New York. http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.

Note

• Information about paintings, photographs, sculptures, or other works of art can usually be presented in the text rather than in a note or bibliography.