Skip to Main Content

Chicago 18th Referencing

Instructions and links for Referencing support

Bibliographies

  • Start on a new page.
  • Include the title Bibliography at the top of the page.
  • Order you references alphabetically by the family name of the author.
  • For multiple authors, only the first-listed name is inverted in the bibliography, e.g. Smith, Adam, and Charles Fishman.
  • The first line of each entry is aligned flush left and all the following lines of that entry are indented.
  • Single line space with a single line between entries.
  • Titles should be headline style. This means you capitalise the first letter of all major words in the title.
  • Change any ampersands & to the word and.
  • Place of publication is the city where the publisher's main office is located. If two places are listed, use the first listed city.
  • To cite two or more works by the same author in your bibliography, arrange entries chronologically from oldest to newest publication.
  • Personal communication should be omitted and is generally only included in the footnotes.
  • AI outputs are generally not included in a bibliography. AI generated content should be cited where it occurs in text.
  • Well-known reference works such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias are commonly only cited in footnotes. However it is appropriate to include them in your bibliography if they form a critical part of your research, or if they are frequently cited. Check with your lecturer if you are unsure.

 

Bibliography

Armstrong, Aurelia. "Foucault and the Question of Autonomy." Paper presented at the Australian Society for Continental Philosophy Conference, University of Queensland, St Lucia, 20 November 2003.  https://espace.library.uq.edu.au/view/UQ:204758

Jory, Patrick. "Republicanism in Thai History." In A Sarong for Clio: Essays on the Intellectual and Cultural History of Thailand, edited by Maurizio Peleggi. Cornell University Press, 2015.

Kargon, Robert H., Karen Fiss, and Morris Low. World's Fairs on the Eve of War. University of Pittsburgh Press, 2015.

McCarter, Stephanie. "Rape, Lost in Translation: How Translators of Ovid’s “Metamorphoses” Turn an Assault Into a Consensual Encounter." Electric Lit. 1 May 2018. https://electricliterature.com/rape-lost-in-translation-7d069ce39d12.

Rennie, Kriston. "The Normative Character of Monastic Exemption in the Early Medieval Latin West." Medieval Worlds 6 (2017): 61-77, https://doi:10.1553/medievalworlds_no6_2017s61.

White, Brett, “Control + Ethics & CSR.” MGMT1002 Principles of Management. Lecture slides. North Ryde, NSW, Australia: Macquarie University, September 30, 2023, iLearn course. 

Wu, Wenhao, and Qi He. "The Roles of Moral Disengagement and Learned Helplessness Towards International Postgraduate Students’ Academic Procrastination." Psychology Research and Behavior Management 15 (2022): 1085-1104. https://doi.org/10.2147/PRBM.S343135.

What is a DOI (Digital Object Identifier)?

A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string assigned by the International DOI Foundation to identify digital content and provide a persistent link to its location on the internet. Publishers assign a DOI when an article is published and made available online.

DOIs follow a standard format:

https://doi.org/10.xxxx/xxxxx

The format includes:

  • https://doi.org/ at the beginning
  • The prefix (e.g., 10.1234), is a unique number of four or more digits assigned to the organisation
  • The suffix, is created by the publisher and may vary depending on their identification standards
  • The prefix and the suffix separated by a slash
Important iconImportant Note:
We’ve recently encountered errors in some articles where the DOI includes an incorrect domain such as simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au. This domain should not appear in the DOI format. If you come across a DOI like this, please check the article carefully to locate the correct DOI—often it can be found in the PDF version of the document or by checking the Library MultiSearch "Citation" record.

Where to find a DOI?

DOIs are usually located:

  • on the first page (abstract page) of the electronic journal article, near the copyright notice or near the author's address.
  • on the database landing page in the Full Record Display of the article with the field labelled DOI.
  • on the PDF version of an article DOIs will be located on the cover sheet, towards the top or the bottom of the article.

Can't find the DOI?

Not all publications have a DOI, and not all databases list DOIs where available. If you are unable to locate a DOI for a publication, you can use the online free DOI lookup on CrossRef. Simply enter the author’s surname along with the title of the publication in Search on article title and click "Search".

You can also find a publication by using the DOI resolver on International DOI Foundation. Simply enter the DOI and click "Go".