Subject and Research Guides: Open Access: Finding Open Access Resources

Open Access Resources

Google Scholar @ MQ
A search engine for scholarly literature that can include open access content from open access repositories.

BASE Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
One of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic web resources and contains the full texts of about 60% of its indexed records Open Access.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a comprehensive database that provides full-text access to open access scientific and scholarly journals across all subject areas and languages. It features journals that adhere to rigorous quality control standards.
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery platform that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books. It helps users identify trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free, and its data is openly available for anyone to use.
OpenStax Textbooks
Provides open access, peer-reviewed textbooks.
OATD: Open Access Theses and Dissertations
An index to open-access theses and dissertations published in universities around the world.

OpenDOAR provides a directory of institutional and disciplinary repositories.
OER Commons Network connects free, full-text scholarly articles from universities worldwide.
CORE is a large collection of open access research papers from repositories and journals worldwide.
Open Access Australasia maintains a list of open repositories including the Macquarie University Research Portal.

Open Access Australasia was founded in 2013 as the Australian Open Access Support Group (AOASG); now known as Open Access Australasia. They support all models of open access, and in particular principles of the F.A.I.R. Access Policy.
SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) was originally developed by the Association of Research Libraries (ARL). It is an international alliance of academic and research libraries committed to reforming the scholarly publishing system and serves as a catalyst for change in scholarly communication.
JISC open policy finder formerly Sherpa services supporting authors and institutions in making informed, confident decisions about open access publishing and compliance.
The Open Access Network platform aims to meet the growing demand for information on the subject of Open Access. The editorial team gathers information which is scattered across many sources and bundles it thematically for presentation to various target groups.
Originally developed as a set of principles for data management, the F.A.I.R. framework (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable) is now increasingly applied to a broader range of research outputs. Applying F.A.I.R. principles ensures that research can be easily found, accessed, used, and reused by others.
The COKI (Curtin Open Knowledge Initiative) Open Access Dashboard from Curtin Univeristy measures open access performance for 227 countries and 56,115 institutions.

Browser extensions - tools like Unpaywall can find legally available open access versions of articles in your browser.
Waranara Library's search tool MultiSearch will allow you to filter your search results to show only open access materials.
Preprint sites – search these sites in MultiSearch to find articles that have yet to be published