provides access to daily macroeconomic, financial and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. It includes reports (country updates and forecasts and industry surveys), data & forecasts, and alerts & analysis. Subjects covered include: Country Risk; Financial Markets and various industry sectors
This database provides web-based access to Euromonitor's reference and source data covering countries and consumer markets and includes historical statistics (from 1977) and forecasts, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. Passport provides access to data related to the following industries: alcoholic drinks; apparel; automotive; beauty and personal care; consumer appliances; consumer electronics; consumer finance; consumer foodservice; consumer health; eyewear; fresh food; health and wellness; home and garden; home care; hot drinks; ingredients; luxury goods; packaged food; packaging; personal accessories; pet care; retailing; soft drinks; tissue and hygiene; tobacco; toys and games; and travel and tourism. Content is continuously-updated as it is linked directly to the in-house research databases used by Euromonitor analysts and consultants.
The World Bank has made a range of data freely available via DataBank, an analysis and visualisation tool. DataBank encompasses comprehensive, downloadable indicators about development in countries around the globe, such as WDI (World Development Indicators), Global Development Finance (GDF) and Global Economic Monitor (GEM).
Database features: Users can generate tables, charts and maps which they can save, embed or share.
Another access point for World Bank publications is: http://datacatalog.worldbank.org/
Date range: 16th-20th Centuries Geographical focus: Britain, US, Americas
Providing access to a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials exploring the history of fifteen major commodities and examining the ways these commodities have changed the world. Also includes data visualisation for commodity prices.
Global Economic Monitor (GEM) provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income, as well as developing countries. Data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage (updated daily and populated upon availability) is available for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade. Links are provided for access to relevant indicator pages, data sets (via DDP and Excel), live Factiva newsfeed, and related sites.
"The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more".
Databases available to postgraduate students and staff only
Bloomberg Professional is an international financial data stream delivered in real time. It covers all aspects of financial market data, such as economics, stock markets and companies, providing current information on equities, bond indices, economic statistics, foreign exchange rates, interest rates; fixed income instruments, derivatives, portfolio and risk management. Along with data, it also provides access to news, analytics and communications. Access is only available in the Library to Postgrad students and staff. Please phone 98507500 or 1800 300 753 for further information and bookings.
A database which provides international financial, economic, stock market and company data. Includes coverage of equities, stock market and bond indices, economic statistics, foreign exchange rates, interest rates, fixed income instruments and derivatives. Includes the Worldscope dataset.