Subject and Research Guides: Economics: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Books

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Library Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are examples of reference sources. You can use dictionaries to find definitions and encylopaedias to find background information.

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by Matias Vernengo, Esteban Perez Caldentey, Barkley J. Rosser Jr
ISBN: 9781349951215
Publication Date: 2020
Consists of over 2,000 chapters written by leading figures in the field.
Includes contributions from 35 Nobel laureates.
Contains full content from 1987 first edition archive
The concise encyclopedia of economics by Henderson, David R.
Publication Date: 2008
A comprehensive encyclopaedia of terms, thought, concepts and biographies developed by the team at The Library of Economics and Liberty

Web Resources

STW Thesaurus for Economics
The thesaurus provides vocabulary on any economic subject: almost 6,000 standardized subject headings and about 20,000 additional entry terms to support individual keywords. Put together by the Leibniz Information Centre foo Economics.
The Economist: Economics A-Z terms
A comprehensive dictionary of economics terms, concepts and ideas from The Economist.

Books

The Library provides access to a range of print and eBooks on different subfields in economics.

Enter subject terms in MultiSearch for an initial overview of the Library's holdings on a topic. Some example subject terms are listed below. To search for specifically Australian information, add 'Australia' to the relevant subject term,
eg "Economic conditions" AND Australia

Macroeconomics
Microeconomics
Financial crises
Monetary policy
Labour economics
Keynesian economics
Inflation
Exchange rates
Globalisation, economic aspects

Please visit our MultiSearch guide for advice on finding books to get a comprehensive overview of locating titles in our collection.