Subject and Research Guides: Economics: News & Media

News and media

Newspapers and online news sites provide critical commentary on all aspects of the Australian/Global business environment and economy. They provide the most up to date analysis as academic articles / reports and data take time to be released.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva’s global news database contains more than 32,000 premium sources including licensed publications, influential websites, blogs, images and videos.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to Australian newspapers and magazines online.
The Economist This link opens in a new window
Access articles from The Economist Newspaper from 1997 to present. To access this resource, choose 'Economist Newspaper' under 'Full text availability' from the 'View Online' options.
The Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2019. Included are the supplements, special reports and surveys as well as full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week.
The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021. This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete run of every item ever printed in Financial Times including special supplements and the FT Magazine, from 1888-2021. It is a research tool for people studying the public affairs and financial history of the last 120 years. Contents are searchable and also browsable by articles and page by page.

Business news publications

These sources are also available through the Factiva Database.

Related Guides

Accessing Major Business Publications
This guide shows how to access both Australian and International business publications that Macquarie University subscribes to.