Skip to Main Content

Accessing Major Business Publications

Accessing The Economist via Library Multisearch

The economist is available through 3 databases:

a. Economist Newspaper: full text available from 1997.

b. Thomson Reuters Westlaw: full text available from 01/11/2003. (Note: this is text only and excludes graphs, tables and diagrams)

c. The Economist Historical Archive: full text available from 1843 to 2015.

1. To locate The economist type “the economist” into the MultiSearch search box. Make sure you have selected the “Books, Articles & more” tab.

2. Several results are returned. Select the item that is a Journal “The economist” with “Online access”.

3. Click on the title to reveal the full record.

4. Under "View Online" click on the link "Economist Newspaper".

5. You will be prompted to login with your OneID if you are off campus.

6. You will be taken to the homepage of the Economist. This site will enable you to search across both the print and online versions of The Economist from 1997 until the current date.  

7. To search for content, click on the “Search” link at the top of the page.

8. Enter your search terms and execute the search.

9. You will then be presented with a list of articles that match your search.

10. To view the full text of the article, click on the article title.

 

 4. Under "View Online" click on the link "Thomson Reuters Westlaw"

5. You will be prompted to login with your OneID if you are off campus

6. You will be taken to the homepage of Thomson Reuters Westlaw - Economist. This site will enable you to search across both the print and online versions of The Economist from 01/11/2003 until the current date.  

7. To search for content, enter your search terms and execute the search.

8. You will then be presented with a list of articles that match your search.

9. To view the full text of the article, click on the article title.

undefined

4. Under "View iOnline" click on the link "The Economist Historical Archive".

5. You will be prompted to login with your OneID if you are off campus.

6. You will be taken to the homepage of Gale primary source - The Economist. This site will enable you to search across both the print and online versions of The Economist from 1843 until 2019.  

7. To search for content, enter your search terms and execute the search

8. You will then be presented with a list of articles that match your search.

9. To view the full text of the article, click on the article title.

undefined