Subject and Research Guides: Law: Cases

Key case-finding resources - EU, UK, USA

EUR-Lex (European Union Law) treaties
EUR-Lex provides searchable free access to European Union law and other documents considered to be public.
Europa.eu
Portal for European Union legislation in force and under preparation.
European Court of Human Rights
Judgments and Decisions on human rights cases in the European Union

Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs, etc from Hong Kong, the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, European Union

BAILII
Access to legislative materials for the United Kingdom and Ireland. Background law reform materials are also available.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Access to PDF copies of the English Reports (1220-1867) and the English Law Reports (pre-1865)
ICLR Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the official series of reports cited in the High Court, the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court as well as case summaries and transcripts.
VLex Justis This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text online legal library of UK, European Union and international case law and legislation
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Cases and commentary from all US courts, along with special collections on topical themes.
Lexis This link opens in a new window
Lexis is a searchable database that offers full text primary and secondary legal materials in all areas of law. The main focus is United States law, but there is also substantial international (including Australian) coverage.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
This is an international online searchable legal research database providing full text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs, etc from Hong Kong, the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, European Union.

FindLaw
A federal and state case law database which includes Supreme Court decisions, United States Reports and opinion summaries.
Justia
US legal research portal that includes primary and secondary sources of case law and legislation.
Public Library of Law
Provides access to cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, federal circuit courts, and state supreme and appeals courts.

HKLII
Hong Kong Judiciary
Thomson Reuters Westlaw
Use the International Materials link (bottom right of the Browse box) to navigate to Hong Kong materials