Subject and Research Guides: Economics: Journals

Journal databases

Research databases may be subject specific or cover many different topic areas. The databases below have full text academic journal articles relating to business, finance, economics and management.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains nearly 1,200 active full-text journals and magazines and 700 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. In addition, the database includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. The database also includes country economic reports from leading entities and detailed company profiles for the 5000 largest companies worldwide. Business Source Premier also provides access to key management and marketing journals, such as Harvard Business Review, Journal of Finance and Journal of Marketing.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit provides bibliographic information to a wide-range of economic-related literature, covering both theory and application. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), it indexes and abstracts scholarly journals, books and dissertations. In addition, it includes full-text book reviews published in JEL and 40,000 working papers in economics.
Emerald Management This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text and abstracts of articles from journals, mainly in the subject area of management including marketing operations and production.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database. It covers a large number of peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social science fields, from an extensive range of international publishers. Also indexed are open access journals, conference proceedings, book series and trade publications, as well as patent records. References go back to 1996, while abstracts go back further. Linking to full-text articles is available.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science consists of several citation databases containing information from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research. The databases contain the references cited by the authors of the journal articles they cover. The cited references can be used as search terms, allowing a published work to be used to find other, later works that cite it. In addition, the databases can be searched by topic, author, source title, and address.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Is a database that contains the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier Science journals, as well as citations and abstracts of other journals. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Subject coverage emphasizes the life, medical, technical, and physical sciences, but there is also coverage of the arts, humanities, social sciences and psychology. Coverage is selective full-text.

Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

What is peer review?

Peer review is a formal process whereby articles are submitted for scrutiny and appraisal by recognised academics or authorities in the appropriate field.

Why are peer reviewed journal articles important?

Peer reviewed articles are authoritative because they have been assessed prior to publication by specialists or experts within academic and/or industry fields.

How to determine if an article is peer reviewed.

You can check if an article is from a peer reviewed journal using Ulrich's international periodicals directory. Search for a journal's name to see details about the journal including whether it is peer reviewed/ refereed.

Other sources such as Multisearch/Business source premier allow you to search for peer reviewed journal articles.

You should always use Ulrichs to check a journal's peer reviewed status as it is the most reliable source for this information.

Using Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory

Use the Databases by Title tab in MultiSearch.
Type Ulrich's in the Simple Search box and click Search.
Use the links under View Online to access the database.

Refereed items are marked with an icon which is a representation of a 'referees shirt'.

Australian Business Dean's Council Journal Quality List

Australian Business Deans Council Journal Quality List
The Australian Business Deans Council's (ABDC) Journal Quality List is a journal ranking exercise undertaken by the Council that divides different business journals into four categories of quality: A*, A, B, C.

Journal titles (not journal articles) can be searched from the ABDC website using titles, keyword, ISSN, Field of Research (FoR) category or Journal Rating.

Related Guides

MultiSearch Guide
For MultiSearch tips and help