Skip to Main Content

Chicago 17th Referencing

Instructions and links for Referencing support

UPDATE Chicago 18th edition

The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition, was released in September 2024.
The Macquarie Chicago18 Referencing guide is now available to reflect these changes for Session Two, 2025. You can now access the updated guide.

Prefer to continue using the 17th edition? No problem — just bookmark this link to keep using the Chicago 17 Guide.

Introduction to Chicago 17th notes & bibliography

This guide provides guidance and examples for the Chicago 17th Notes & Bibliography style using footnotes.

  • This means each footnote at the bottom of your page will correspond to a raised number in your text.
  • Details of your sources are provided in the footnotes, and these details are supplemented by a bibliography at the end of the document. 
  • See the box below for common examples and use the left hand menu to navigate to specific source types.

Important icon You should check your unit guide or consult with unit convenors for the style required by your unit. 

Frequently used source examples

Footnote:

9. Kriston Rennie, "The normative character of monastic exemption in the early medieval Latin west," Medieval Worlds 6 (2017): 71, https://doi:10.1553/medievalworlds_no6_2017s61.

Bibliography:

Rennie, Kriston. "The normative character of monastic exemption in the early medieval Latin west." Medieval Worlds 6 (2017): 61-77. https://doi:10.1553/medievalworlds_no6_2017s61.

Footnote:

1. Alastair Blanshard, Hercules: A Heroic Life (London: Granta, 2006), 151.

Bibliography:

Blanshard, Alastair. Hercules: A Heroic Life. London: Granta, 2006.

Footnote:

8. Patrick Jory, "Republicanism in Thai History," in A Sarong for Clio: Essays on the Intellectual and Cultural History of Thailand, ed. Maurizio Peleggi (Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2015), 97-117.

Bibliography:

Jory, Patrick. "Republicanism in Thai History." In A Sarong for Clio: Essays on the Intellectual and Cultural History of Thailand, edited by Maurizio Peleggi, 97-117. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2015.

Footnote:

1. Genevieve von Petzinger, "Why are these 32 symbols found in ancient caves all over Europe?" filmed August 2015 at TED Fellows Retreat 2015, video, 12:05, https://www.ted.com/talks/genevieve_von_petzinger_why_are_these_32_symbols_found_in_ancient_caves_all_over_europe.

Bibliography:

von Petzinger,  Genevieve. "Why are these 32 symbols found in ancient caves all over Europe?" Filmed August 2015 at TED Fellows Retreat 2015. Video,12:05.  https://www.ted.com/talks/genevieve_von_petzinger_why_are_these_32_symbols_found_in_ancient_caves_all_over_europe.