Skip to Main Content

Chicago Referencing

Instructions and links for Referencing support

Citing webpages

  • To cite a webpage state the title or description of the specific page; the title or description of the site as a whole; the owner or sponsor of the site; and a URL. The word website (or web page) may be added (in parentheses) after the title or description of the site if the nature of the source is unclear. 
  • Publication date or date of revision or modification; if no such date can be determined, include an access date. For frequently updated resources, a time stamp may be included. 

Elements of footnote:

Author (First Name Family Name), "Webpage Title," Title or Owner of Website, Date of Publication / Revision or Access, URL.

Footnote:

22 Stephanie McCarter, "Rape, Lost in Translation: How Translators of Ovid’s “Metamorphoses” Turn an Assault Into a Consensual Encounter," Electric Lit, 1 May 2018, https://electricliterature.com/rape-lost-in-translation-7d069ce39d12.

Subsequent Notes:

27 McCarter, "Rape, lost in translation."

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author/s (Family Name, First Name/s). "Webpage Title." Title or Owner of Website. Date of Publication / Revision or Access. URL.

Bibliography entry:

McCarter, Stephanie. "Rape, Lost in Translation: How Translators of Ovid’s “Metamorphoses” Turn an Assault Into a Consensual Encounter." Electric Lit. 1 May 2018. https://electricliterature.com/rape-lost-in-translation-7d069ce39d12.

Elements of footnote:

"Title of Webpage," Website Name/Owner/Publisher, published/Last modified/Accessed date in Month Day, Year, URL.

Footnote:

9 "Press Room," IMDb, Accessed November 28, 2023, https://www.imdb.com/pressroom/?ref_=ft_pr

Subsequent Notes:

11 "Press Room"

Elements of bibliography entry:

Owner/Publisher. "Webpage Title." Website Name. Publication/Last modified/Accessed date in Month Day, Year. URL.

Bibliography entry:

IMDb. "Press Room" IMDb. Accessed November 28, 2023, https://www.imdb.com/pressroom/?ref_=ft_pr

Note:

  • If no authors are named, the webpage title comes first in the notes entry, but in the bibliography the website owner/publisher is the first element.
  • If there is no date of publication, use Last modified or Last updated date if given; otherwise the date you accessed the information.

Elements of footnote:

Author of post (handle where available), "Text of post," Location/description of post, Date of post, URL.

Footnote:

5 Macquarie University (@macquarieuni). “ Open Day 2023 - did we see you there? #myMQ,” Instagram, August 12, 2023, https://www.instagram.com/p/Cv1x79aumvS/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=ODhhZWM5NmIwOQ==.

Subsequent Notes:

8 Macquarie University, "Open Day 2023"

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author of Post (handle where available). "Text of Post." Location/description of Post. Date of post. URL.

Bibliography entry:

Macquarie University (@macquarieuni). “ Open Day 2023 - did we see you there? #myMQ,” Instagram, August 12, 2023, https://www.instagram.com/p/Cv1x79aumvS/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=ODhhZWM5NmIwOQ==.

Elements of footnote:

Author (First Name Last Name), "Title of Blog Post," Title of Blog (blog), Date of post, URL.

Footnote:

23 Inger Mewburn, “Mind the Gap (in the Literature),” The Thesis Whisperer (blog), May 26, 2023, https://thesiswhisperer.com/2023/05/26/literaturereviewpain/

Subsequent Notes:

25 Mewburn, "Mind the Gap."

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author (Last Name, First Name/s). "Title of Blog Post." Title of Blog (blog). Date of post. URL.

Bibliography entry:

Mewburn, Inger. “Mind the Gap (in the Literature),” The Thesis Whisperer (blog), May 26, 2023, https://thesiswhisperer.com/2023/05/26/literaturereviewpain/