Skip to Main Content

Chicago Referencing

Instructions and links for Referencing support

Citing books

  • A reference to a book must include enough information to lead interested readers to the source.
  • The title of the book is italicised. 
  • List the name of the author(s) or editor(s) or, if none are listed, name of institution standing in their place. An author’s name and the title of a book should generally be cited according to how it appears on the title page.
  • In a note, the author’s name is given in the normal order. In a bibliography, where names are arranged alphabetically, it is usually inverted (last name first).

Elements of footnote:

Author(s) of chapter (First Name Family Name), “Title of Chapter,” in Title of Book, ed. Editor(s) (Place of publication: Publisher, year), page(s).

Footnote:

8 Patrick Jory, "Republicanism in Thai History," in A Sarong for Clio: Essays on the Intellectual and Cultural History of Thailand, ed. Maurizio Peleggi (Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2015), 99.

Subsequent Notes:

9 Jory, "Republicanism in Thai History": 102

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author of chapter (Family Name, First Name/s). “Title of chapter.” In Title of Book, edited by Editor/s (First Name/s Family Name), pages of the chapter referred to. Place of publication: Publisher, year.

Bibliography entry:

Jory, Patrick. "Republicanism in Thai History." In A Sarong for Clio: Essays on the Intellectual and Cultural History of Thailand, edited by Maurizio Peleggi, 97-117. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2015.

Note:

  • Authors appear first in the reference. Use the full names of authors and invert only the first author in bibliography.
  • Include all authors in the footnote when a chapter has up to 3 authors; list only the first author followed by et al. for 4 or more authors.
  • Include all authors in the bibliography when a chapter has up to 10 authors; for more than 10 authors, list the first 7 followed by et al. 
  • Capitalise all words in the chapter and book title and sub-title (except for common words - of, and, etc).
  • In footnotes list all editors for up to 3 editors; for 4 or more editors list the first editor followed by et al
  • In the bibliography, list all for up to 10 editors, or list the first 7 followed by et al. for more than 10 editors.
  • Use the abbreviation ed. (for edited by) before the editor(s) in footnotes; spell out edited by in bibliography.

Elements of footnote:

Author (First Name Family Name), Title of Book, edition (Place of publication: Publisher, year), page number(s).

Footnote:

1 Evan Leybourn, Directing the Agile Organisation : A Lean Approach to Business Management, 2nd ed. (Ely, Cambridgshire: IT Governance Publishing, 2013) 42.

Subsequent Notes:

4 Leybourn, Directing the agile organisation: 82

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author (Family Name, First Name/s). Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. 

Bibliography entry:

Leybourn, Evan. Directing the Agile Organisation: A Lean Approach to Business Management. 2nd ed. Ely, Cambridgshire: IT Governance Publishing, 2013.

Elements of footnote:

Author 1 (First Name Family Name/s), Author 2, and Author 3, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, year), page(s).

Footnote:

2 Robert H. Kargon, Karen Fiss, and Morris Low, World's Fairs on the Eve of War (Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2015), 57.

Subsequent Notes:

9 Kargon, Fiss, Low, World's Fairs, 105

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author 1 (Family Name, First Name), Author 2, and Author 3. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, year.

Bibliography entry:

Kargon, Robert H., Karen Fiss, and Morris Low. World's Fairs on the Eve of War. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2015.

Note:

  • Author's names appear first in the reference. Use the full names of authors and invert only the first author in bibliography.
  • Include all author names in the footnote when a book has up to 3 authors; list only the first author followed by et al. for 4 or more authors.
  • Place of publication is the city where the publisher’s main editorial offices are located.
  • If the city may be confused with another city of the same name, the abbreviation of the state or country is usually added.

Elements of footnote:

Author 1 (First Name Family Name) et al., Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, year), page(s).

Footnote:

9 Phil Jones et al., Virtual Reality Methods: A Guide for Researchers in the Social Sciences and Humanities (Bristol: Policy Press, 2022), 84

Subsequent Notes:

11 Jones et al., Virtual Reality Methods, 92.

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author 1 (Family Name, First Name/s), Author 2, Author 3, and Author 4. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, year.

Bibliography entry:

Jones, Phil, Tess Osborne, Calla Sullivan-Drage, Natasha Keen, and Eleanor Gadsby. Virtual Reality Methods: A Guide for Researchers in the Social Sciences and Humanities. Bristol: Policy Press, 2022.

Note:

  • Use the full names of authors and invert only the first author in the bibliography/reference list.
  • Include all author names in the footnote when a book has up to 3 authors; list only the first author followed by et al. for 4 or more authors.
  • List all for up to 10 authors, or the first 7 followed by et al. for more than 10 authors in the bibliography/reference list.
  • The edition other than the first is cited and placed after the title. The standard first edition is not cited. 
  • Terms of edition are abbreviated, e.g. 2nd ed. (Second Edition), rev. ed. (Revised Edition), or 1st Aust. ed. (First Australian Edition)

Note: Edited books usually contain chapters written by different authors. In most cases, you would actually want to reference the individual chapters you use from the edited book, not the edited book itself. See the Book chapters page for more information.

 

Elements of footnote:

Editor (First Name/s Family Name), ed., Book Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

Footnote:

 9 Aleksei V. Bogoviz, ed., Big Data in Information Society and Digital Economy, (Cham: Springer International Publishing AG, 2023). 52

Subsequent Notes:

10 Bogoviz, Big Data in Information: 74

Elements of bibliography entry:

Editor (Family Name, First Name/s), ed. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. 

Bibliography entry:

Bogoviz, Aleksei V., ed. Big Data in Information Society and Digital Economy. Cham: Springer International Publishing AG, 2023.

Note:

  • For an edited book, place the editor names in the author position followed by ed. (for editor) or eds (for editors). Note that the shortened footnote does not include ed.

Elements of footnote:

Author (First Name Family Name/s),  Book Title: Subtitle, edition, trans. Translator (First Name/s  Family Name) (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

 Footnote:

5 Peter Wohlleben, The Hidden Life of Trees: What They Feel, How They Communicate; Discoveries from a Secret World, trans. Jane Billinghurst (Vancouver: Black Inc., 2016), 58.

Subsequent Notes:

9 Wohlleben, Hidden Life of Trees, 74

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author (Family Name, First Name/s). Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Translated by Translators (First name/s  Family name). Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. 

Bibliography entry:

Wohlleben, Peter. The Hidden Life of Trees: What They Feel, How They Communicate; Discoveries from a Secret World. Translated by Jane Billinghurst. Vancouver: Black Inc., 2016. 

Elements of footnote:

Author(s) (First Name Family Name), Title of Book, (Place of publication: Publisher, year), Page number(s) or chapter/section/location, URL/DOI/Format/Device/Database name.

Footnote:

6 Rob Chapman, A Very Irregular Head: The Life of Syd Barrett, (Cambridge, Ma.: Da Capo Press, 2010) 329, ProQuest Ebook Central.

23 J.G. Ballard, The Drowned World (London: Harper Perennial, n.d.), loc. 428 of 2960, Kindle.

Subsequent Notes:

9 Chapman, A Very Irregular Head, 74

25 Ballard, The Drowned World, loc. 438 of 2960, Kindle.

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author(s) (Family Name, First Name/s). Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, year. URL/DOI/Format/Device/Database name.

Bibliography entry:

Ballard, J.G.. The Drowned World. London: Harper Perennial, n.d.. Kindle.

Chapman, Rob. A Very Irregular Head: The Life of Syd Barrett. Cambridge, Ma.: Da Capo Press, 2010. ProQuest Ebook Central.

Note:

  • Remove the University proxy (simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au) from any link used.
  • Do not insert a hyphen if you need to break a URL across lines. Break the URL before a slash or dash or at another logical division point.
  • Include a full-stop after the URL at the end of the reference.
  • Use the chapter DOI for the pinpoint section in footnotes if available; use the DOI for the book in the bibliography.

Elements of footnote:

Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication), page(s) cited.

Footnote:

9 A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced (London, 1610). 10.

Subsequent Notes:

11 A True and Sincere Declaration, 8.

Elements of bibliography entry:

Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

Bibliography entry:

A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced. London, 1610.